Tales From The Circ Side

in #life6 years ago

The Question


IMG_2172.JPG

At the library, part of my job description revolves around inquiry. I love to ask questions, and I love to be asked questions. However there are times that the questions are somewhat off the wall or mirth inducing, Why, just last week a man called to inquire about our children's programs. I responded to his query by launching into my standard response of what encompasses story time: stories, songs, and crafts. His reply still causes me amused bafflement:

"Did you say you teach the kids craps?"

"No sir, we do not teach the kids gambling dice games, I said crafts with an F." I replied kindly.

Today though, I received a question that helped make a slow Wednesday pass with a bit more inner joy.

Our library branch is located right next to an elementary school. At around three P.M. our tranquil knowledge haven becomes a raucous gathering place for our local youth. As it is now spring and the weather is somewhat nice, the park bench by the front door is often adorned with a bunch of preteens. They spend their after school hours preening about and gazing vacantly into their smartphones, often emitting no small amount of amused giggles as someone shares something randomly stupid or slightly inappropriate.

On Wednesday the bench was occupied by a gaggle of fifth grade girls. Honestly, I was pleased that it was the girls, because that meant that there would be no rocks dropped into the drop-box that day. My co-worker had departed for his break and I had settled into the one office chair at the circ desk, for it was rather quiet that day, even the after school rush was more subdued than normal. As I sat in the chair researching yogurt cultures for an upcoming class that I am going to teach, I felt a presence manifest next to me, and my gaze soon filled with the figure of a small, blonde girl.

The adolescent was shifting nervously back and forth and already had the flush of I'm going to do something inappropriate and I am so nervous about it coloring her youthful visage. This was going to get interesting, I inwardly observed!

I held her gaze because even though I knew mischief was coming, I feel like people need to earn their moments of mirth. She moved in close to my position and whispered in a barely audible tone,

"I have a question for you."

Clamping down on my impulse to smile, I replied, "Shoot."

"What's a condom?" she blurted.

"It's a prophylactic."I replied instantly, and I have to admit I truly relished the look of embarrassed confusion that crossed the poor kid's face, then I went on,

"We have some books on that particular subject, I can show you where they are located."

Little Miss Foiled Discomfort was on the ropes, for she most definitely did not get the reaction that she was anticipating. She began prancing around as her embarrassment train had fully derailed.

"Did I not answer you question fully?" I inquired.

"No." She uttered in a humiliated tone.

"Well, it's a form of birth control, and if you want more information than that, you will have to ask your parents about it."

She squeaked out a thank you and bolted to the door.

As the Birth Control Inquirer left the library so did the laughter leave my manager's form. My boss is often amused at how I deal with people, especially kids. I told her round two would begin shortly, as tweens and teens usually can't let things go so easily, especially things to do with latex and bodily functions.

Sure enough, a couple of minutes later a curly red haired creature came flouncing in the door and placed her elbows onto the circ counter. Her face was the shade of a hot house tomato. Before she even opened her mouth I asked,

"Do you have a question for me too?"

IMG_2173.JPG

Pre-embarrassing reproductive question hurling face shade

Her face broke into a smiggle[1] and she began thrashing around like a worm in hot ashes. The red-barrassment glow of her face began to increase into a fire engine colored hue, and suddenly, with a violent expelling of air she squealed, "I can't do this!" and rushed out the front door.

This time I joined my boss in a quality round of belly laughs before proceeding with the rest of my day.



[1] A smiggle is somewhere between a smile and a giggle, I usually am known to engage in this action when I am exceedingly embarrassed, and to be honest, that phenomenon has not occurred in my form for many years.

And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's bemused and never abused iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

I admire your ability to keep a straight face for as long as you do during this hilarious encounters. And to come up with such a great answer!!!

Honestly, most of the time I just say the first thing that comes to mind. It tends to do the trick in distract the patron-land, LOL! It was hard not to giggle a bit though;O)

No just smiggling here but laughing, Kat:) You are so much more indulgent than I would have been in your position. She offered the epitome of a teachable moment.

I would have taken her to the dictionaries and made her look it up old school. Chances are she might not even know how to do so, given google. But I sure would have had fun slowly teaching her how to use a dictionary, maybe have her look up a few words other words so I could be sure she mastered the skill.

Your library job sounds like a hoot:)

Ah my friend you are too kind, I am just mischievous and was feeling lazy at the moment. It sounds like you have experience in the facilitating of teachable moments department:o) And yep, that job is more often than not a "hoot" lol!

Hope you are having a splendid Sunday!

I am ... sending you some positive vibes:)

"It's a prophylactic." - Priceless. Congrats kat, you got belly laughs for this one. Partially because of the beauty of the smart ass answer and partially because I can't hear that word without thinking about the Gangbang song by Dr. Dirty John Valby. I'll keep your blog SFW and keep the lyrics to myself but let's just say my maturity level rivals that of the kids who visit your library.

Ah, the eliciting of a Chop's belly laugh makes me happy! I kind of feel like I won an award or something with that compliment of yours, and I hope your maturity level never makes any progression beyond its current status, lol!

Sounds as if you're having more fun than a human librarian ought to have... ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Ooh, who said anything about being human? LOL!

Although I must admit, my librarian work is more often fun than not, hope you have been enjoying your weekend Mr. C!

Thanks! But, that's "Mr. 'c'" (lowercase, please) to you... ;)

I'm not in competition with The Big Guy... I just admire The Creator's handiwork, and my goal is to imitate his creativity in some small way...

Ha ha ha! Grammar attack! Have no fear my pal, I was referring to you with an "r"not the Man with an "or":o)

I strive to emulate to the best of my ability too:O)!

Awww I could just see it all in my mind LOL! Oh yes dispatching said librarian duties in usual Kat style: gentle, kind yet mirth producing! Well done!

Ha ha! Thank you OGP! I always try to be pretty cool to the kids, but it is fun to mess with them just a bit, you know, for fun and stuff, LOL! The whole experience was even more awesome than normal as I was all dressed up for my yearly performance evaluation, so it was like an authentic librarian versus youth scene:o)

As soon as I read the question, I knew my own answer would have been "prophylactic" as well. Nothing derails mischief quite like an unexpected ten-dollar word!

Yes, big vocabulary words make the world a better place to dwell in! Nothing is more fun than tossing a linguistic squirrel into a potentially weird situation, and you are pretty good at said actions, I have seen it!

Your children should know everything
Until they become successful in life
Very great article really well published

Thank you so much @roselover!

It was funny, but you had dealt softly and showing kindness towards those curious kids.

Awe, thank you:o) I try to be nice to curious and even ornery children!

Menurut pemahaman dari saya. Apapun rencana atau tindakan yang harus dilakukan berdasarkan pemahaman tersendiri. Penempatan sesuatu yang dikendalikan. Karena disetiap malu ada batasan tersendiri, juga dengan kejujuran yang tidak menimbulkan hal yang berakibat fatal.

Thank you so much for your kind and very thoughtful reply. I try to be thoughtful and not unnecessarily cruel in my actions for sure:o)

hopefully what is expected to be conveyed. hopefully the days are fun

I love this so much! You are one cool cucumber! Haha! I love it! Thanks for the smiggle! 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19