An Afterschool Robotic Petting Zoo

in #life7 years ago

One Little, Two Little, Three Little Robots....

IMG_5037.JPG

Today was slightly more interesting than normal. BB-8 in miniature took multiple tours around the library. A circular-shaped robot named Sphero zipped through the foyer. I learned that Ozobots take a gentle touch to recalibrate; taught some elementary-aged school kids that a circuit needs to be complete before anything "happens", and watched a pretty hysterical group of kids try to program a robo-mouse through a maze.

IMG_5042.JPG

Just another day's work at the library.

IMG_5051.JPG

IMG_5052.JPG

There has been a huge push the last few years in Youth Services to get all things STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) into the hands of our youth, and today's hands-on extravaganza was just another of many opportunities that our library has facilitated in this area. I have nothing to do with planning any of it, for as a circulation librarian my part is just support staff, but I do so like witnessing the joy of discovery.

IMG_5046.JPG

IMG_5043.JPG
Sphero made short work of the discarded book maze.

Also, BB-8 and Sphero were totally fascinated by my boots, as they rammed themselves off of the shiny surface of my Neo-Victorian foot-ware multiple times:

IMG_5054.JPG

IMG_5055.JPG
I feel like this was done on purpose, as there were lots of giggles, but the robots were always blamed, not their "pilots"...

And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's tired from timing all of the kid's turns with the robots iPhone.

Sort:  

Those are way cool. Looks like something I could spend a whole lot more time messing about with than I have available. Better not. Hard enough to keep up with this wondersite. But it's pretty neat you get to be part of that STEM project, if only as footwear backboard provider for the yout's to ram their project into.
And I just knew that in your line of work, you would have to have at least one pair of shiny Neo-Vic's (I am so hip) , to along with the rest of the Liebro getup. (Only way to spell that so it comes out like it should sound.) Have a wonderful night.

It was fun playing with all of them, er....I mean "setting everything up" before the kids got there...

Today was full on stereotypical librarian clothing day, complete with a pin striped blouse, black skirt, patterned stockings, and a strange side swept ponytail with a victory roll on top. I dress differently every week, don't want the patrons to see just one manifestation of me, have to keep them on their toes 😉

My night is progressing pleasantly, hope yours is truly blissful!

Sounds like you got this thing down to a fine science. Question: Is a "victory roll" an intellectually deflectionary euphemism for the classic "bun"? No end to those jokes of such with my friend in your category of employ we were discussing with you a post or 12 back.

Actually, a "victory roll" is the maneuver that I engage in when all of the children's programming is over for the day and I still have my hair firmly attached to my scalp! lol!

I am sure that you and your friend are the very best at providing levity and scintillating company at all times 😊

We definitely try at all times. Don't see her as much anymore, as we don't work together in the summers like we did years back.
I'll bet that 'victory roll' is a popular thing there in the library halls. "There she goes again...".

I'm glad BB-8 was cooperating this time. Did Miss M bring the caterpillars?

BB-8 is a sassy little piece of tin! I think that our IT person of excellence moving our wifi helped with his new and improved behavior.

Alas, no caterpillars, rather robo-mice were in attendance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60934.92
ETH 3379.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48