Amusing Anecdotes: Library Edition

in #life7 years ago

A Mini Wandering Book Mystery


Over the last few years that I have spent in the library, I have noticed a rather strange phenomenon: The Book With Legs or the BWL. There is this particular non-fiction book that appears to sprout appendages and wanders around the adult non-fiction section following no particular pattern of destination.

IMG_1465_LI.jpg

Sometimes I will find the book resting atop the travel books in the 900 section. Maybe the BWL is pondering a trip to Paris, who knows?

Other times I find the BWL crammed up underneath the self-help tomes, a rather strange bit of circumstance indeed. Perhaps a consultation with Deepak Chopra or Joel Osteen was necessary to understand the BWL's obvious shelf staying issues and lack of contentedness in its rightful place.

IMG_1467.JPG

It was only after spending a fair bit of time employed by the library district that I became aware of the true method of conveyance that the book with legs was utilizing, although I always had my suspicions. Indeed, once our security cameras were installed last year we got to see the BWL in action. Apparently young people, mostly between the ages of 11-14, feel a compulsion to liberate the BWL from its comfy home and pack it to various secluded corners of the library for a perusal. Even though our cameras have no volume, you can see the giggles and shocked looks emanating from the younger set as they comb the BWL's pages.

IMG_1464.JPG

Lately our manager has been removing the BWL from its home during the after-school rush and placing it on our work counter in the back office. We then re-shelve the instructional tome back in its rightful place after the kids clear out for the day. Amazingly this strategy has caused the BWL to cease its reckless, wandering ways. No more, when I am shelving garden books in the 635 section do I come across the stark red and white cover that beckons to curious young people!

So, I bet you are all really wondering just what the heck the Book With Legs' title is at this point. Never one to deprive my audience of a climactic ending, I took a picture of the BWL just for you all:

IMG_1460_LI.jpg

There's never a dull moment at the library, let me tell ya!



😆 😆 😆



And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's amused at the youth's antics iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

Lol, I was totally intrigued by what this book could be and then it all made sense

Oh good, I was hoping that the post ended on a satisfactory note 😜

I had my suspicions after you said the BWL was being moved around by 11-14 year olds. It’s funny how it’s the same book all the time. I can’t imagine it’s the only book of its kind there at the library is it?

LOL! Some things never change for sure, and I agree with @jacobtothe, it's probably the title. The "What's Happening to My Body: Teen Edition" sounds more like a science experiment gone wrong and far less fun.😆

We have a few others on such topics, but that one has the most alluring title, apparently.

I was wondering what the book title was, and was developing suspicions, which proved to be well-founded. That's just too funny!

I'm glad it amused you! We all got a guffaw out of it for sure!:o)

Well I mean you cant blame the youngins. After all it does have "all new photographs and illustrations"! Say they don't have a spare copy to send to Michigan do they? LOL 😂 😁

I'm sure your local library branch can accommodate you! In fact, I think our copy might be a little outdated, perhaps there is a newer, more accurate version, lol!

Some things never change do they? Lol 🐓🐓

Ha ha! They sure don't!

Setelah aku membacanya postingan @generikat seakan akan untuk melakukan lebih dari keinginan yang hanya sekedar membaca pada postingan-postingan orang. Hanya saja pada kesempatan kali ini sehingga bakat saya dengan langsung membaca buku apapun. Terimakasih @generikat dan ini juga motivasi dalam perjalanan saya

All of your kind words are most appreciated, thank you so much for reading my post and commenting on it!

LOL ... there you have it. Libraries ... corruptor of youths. Too funny, generikat. Seriously though. I envy you working for a library:)

The library is a fine place of employment. Although, there are some workplace hazards: people that lack hygiene and/or full mental faculties, constant policy changes, unruly, unmannerly citizens of all ages, and the occasional bio-hazard, but as I am surrounded by all manner of printed and non-printed media, a most soothing thing indeed, I find that I continue enduring the torture that is my place of employment....LOL!

I understand you completely:)

Nice. Who would have expected such a pithy response?

Surprised that book didn't just wander right out the door.

You know what? It has wandered out the door a few times, but it magically always returns in the after hours drop box, probably after someone's mom found it, LOL😉

Woww quisiera visitar esa biblioteca :D

We'd all love it if you could visit our library too:o)!

Wow amigo ojala algun dia tenga la posibilidad :D

That is classic that the BWL moves around so much. Though it makes sense, as the yout's are no doubt a bit embarrassed to be seen reading it, but cannot help themselves anyway....and what better way to truly learn what is up, rather than relying on the locker room (where I got a lot of my info, since these types of books were nowhere to be found in our library...).

Very funny post, thanks for the chuckles. Hope all is well in your neck of the woods. And the snow has abated a bit. It was 57 here today, but I won't tell you that...( :
Have a nice night, the NON-Wandering Kitchenware

Ah, my favorite Amiable Kitchenware Accoutrement, how are you doing? I have missed chatting with you.

Guess what!? It was almost 60 here on Tuesday, and of course I was stuck in the 'brare all day, staring longingly out the window, dreaming of raking pine needles off of my yard. With it being that warm my driveway is about like a road in Mozambique during the rainy season. Super fun! March stands for Mud in my part of the world, let me tell ya!

Hope you are enjoying stuff and things? I have to go complete some domestic-type things now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60637.64
ETH 2405.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60