A Homeschool Field Trip

in #life6 years ago

A Meander Through A Show Steer Auction Preview


IMG_3618.JPG

This morning my daughter and I rose early, for we had a field trip to embark on! Both of us had a spring in our step because this particular field trip involved going to a show steer breeders farm and previewing all of the club calves that are going to be auctioned off this Sunday. You see, it is already time for the kids that want to do a market beef 4-H project to pick out their calves for next year's fair. There really isn't much of a break between the projects and is most definitely not an endeavor for those who do not want to put in some work.

We were to be heading down to the Rathdrum Prairie to visit the cattle farm this morning with a couple of our fellow 4-H friends. The cattle breeder is so super cool, he and his family arranged for us to come and privately preview all of the calves so our kids could get an idea of which calves they liked and wanted to bid on this weekend at the club calf sale. We arrived at the working cattle ranch this morning to a familiar sight to anyone who's ever pulled into a working agricultural operation. All manner of equipment and outbuildings bedecked the property like oxidizing heralds of hay -scented welcome. If you looked in among the agricultural themed detritus more than a few barn cats could be spied peering at you in perturbed alert.

IMG_3611 (2).JPG

The elder rancher greeted us and proceeded to lead us to the large corral where the calves were getting their training. One thing about the place where we get our market calves that makes it so special is that it is a family run operation. Instead of just getting a young, unruly steer that has never had any handling, when you buy a club calf from the McLean family you are going to get something special. Multiple generations of family members work together on halter training and gentling the weaned steers. They truly have a nice operation and their care and love for what they do shows, for their steers are fantastic.

When we got to the corral we were faced with a scene of beauty. Well, beauty to a bovine enthusiast. There, in front of us all, were twenty young steers standing tied. For the next thirty minutes or so Mr. McLean led us down the line of steers and went over their parentage and pros and cons. He had this little black book that he referred to when we had questions, the pages all dog eared and faded from the elements and use.

IMG_3616.JPG

After a bit of Moo shopping, we stood around and talked feed and genetics while the kids said hello to the calves. Then, without warning, the amiable cattleman hollered,

"Why don't you kids just untie the ones that you like and take em' for a walk. Test em' out!"

IMG_3614.JPG

And try them out they did! Part of the young calves lead and gentling training involves leading them to a water trough during the day in the middle of the corral. The three kids that were with us got right to work leading and testing out their favorites. Some of their initial likes proved to be stubborn or not quite right, and new favorites were quickly established.

IMG_3613.JPG

I have to say that Mr. McLean is sharp, for before the visit was over, the kids had tested all of the steers and led them to water. Our favorite cattleman chuckled about that fact with us and his adult grandson, who is in charge of the calves' training. They enjoyed the kid's auction preview visit too.

IMG_3617.JPG

Upon leaving, we all piled into my friend's truck and chattered back and forth about our favorite calves and reasons why. As I sat squished in between two teenagers that smelled of moo, I reflected a bit on the fact that I just got to spend an entire morning petting baby bovines in the company of a bunch of cool characters and decided that the rest of my day would probably be as moo-velous as the first half!

IMG_3615.JPG


Oh, and if you are ever in the market for a show bovine in North Idaho, give McLean Cattle a look, they rock!


And as almost always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's club calf slobber covered iPhone.



Want to read more @Generikat posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

Hello how are you? read your post is really a fun and some with his touch of suspense, I love when you are very familiar and you can see that life on the farm is very fun, your children enjoy this vicita guided by the expert Mr. McLean, nice pictures those little ones look very healthy because their skin is shiny.

Hi there! I am doing well and hope that you are too! I am also glad that you enjoyed the cattle post, we are pretty fond of bovines around here:) Thank you so much for all of your kind words!

I know some people who can't even drive past a lone steer in a field without shouting, "MOO!!!" I dread how they would react to such a swarm of baby beeflets.

Your response reminded me of a certain Veggie Tale song, lol, Achoo, Moo, Moo... is in part of the chorus.

We were around that beeflet swarm for awhile today, and the the I purchased one of her very own. Perhaps you can moo at him when we bring him home next week;o)

CeeeeBUUUUUUU!!!

Now that was a fun field trip! It was so nice of the rancher to let the kids take the critters for a walk and get acquainted.

It was a pretty awesome outing! Today the Sis bought one of them! You'll have to come over for a pet or two when we bring him home, he is the sweetest thing:)

I'd love that! Before he gets too big!

I have no cows, but at times think about getting one. I will keep McLean in mind if/when I do. Sounds like a most marvelous day. I love that the kids leash-about large calves, over dogs and cats and such. Such the life. And there is nothing like that ever-pleasant smell of the barnyard. It must be a brainstem thing. So organic and pleasant. I gotta get me a cow...

Good evening my favorite skillet domesticus! Our family expanded a bit today, my daughter bought one of those fine bovines at the auction today. I can't wait to get that little moolet home, she has named him Frisky, although I will probably refer to him as Moo Bear Squared.

Can't wait to see posts about dd and the cow:) I am going to go finish my breakfast now, ran around so much today that I am just now eating. Think I am going to go collapse afterward. Have a great night my feathered pal!

Yes, your name is more apropos. Though we won't tell her I said that. Moo Bear is a most classic name, for a most classic bovinidae, and keeping it going is so cool. As for cows, we can only hope you'll see a picture, me, in the saddle, rounding up cats on my MooRide. Wonder what the neighbors will think? Probably nothing more than usual. "There goes that DD, what's he got NOW? A riding cow"? We can only hope to see it one day.
Have a most splendiferous day, and remember to eat breakfast, after all, it's the first meal of the day (even at 1900 hours).
Yours in the Feathery Pan

I had the land, barn and pasture and pretty much all that I needed to raise a few, however I just could not do it. I just know myself too well and would get too attached... I just ended up spending (wasting) too much money on pasture ornaments of the Eqqus variety lol.

Ahh, Old Guy, there is nothing wrong with being an animal softy. I am one of those as well:)

And somehow I am in a similar situation too, but instead of just the equines I have the bovines too, ha ha! In fact, I have to drag myself away from Steemland and go get my horse tack ready to roll, got to go ride my horse tonight! Yay!

Friend, how are you? I enjoy your stories a lot and you even make me laugh, they spent a great time together with so many beautiful bovines, I have never lived an experience like this but I imagine the happiness of your children, if they smell like moo it is because they enjoyed it, they were happy while they shared with those adorable bovines

Good evening my friend! I am great, just got done feeding a bunch of friends some apple crisp and vanilla ice cream. Nothing is better than eating food with friends I think:) If you ever do get a chance to a hang out with a cow or two, I totally recommend it, they are fun creatures. We got to hang out with all the little calves again today, it was so much fun:) Hope have had a great day!

Your story is very enjoyble . They are spend a many great time with bovines . Thanks for sharing @generikat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80