Sorry, I'm not in the market for any countries right now.

in #life6 years ago

BUY AMERICAN!

The nationalist slogan is spewed forth from a million different voices, all talking about how "they're stealing our jobs!" They aren't of course, massive corporations are exporting "our" jobs to other countries because it's cheaper. But is it really so good to buy American? Sure, if it's made really well, that's fine, but often it's the same shit.

Every purchase you make, no matter where it's actually made, is just supporting a culture of materialism. You're spending your hard earned money that you paid for with your life and your body to buy shit you may or may not actually need, to support their inflated incomes, so they can buy shit they don't need.

united-states-of-america-flag-1462904737auy.jpg
Photo by George Hodan (source)

I don't give a fuck where what I buy was made. I have no problem with people in who the fuck knows where earning money to make a product that I want or need. I hope that I helped feed their family.

Of course, I don't really like the amount of massive profit on everything.

I don't care where the person who makes the things I buy lives. I care about if it's high quality. I care about if it's a good price. I care about if some corporate asshole slapped a huge fucking price on it so he can buy a fucking Lambo. Buy some crypto if you want a Lambo. :P

We all have our own priorities in life. We all have different things we care about. I care about the shit corporations are pulling, but there are so many pulling so much shit that it's hard to remember. I care about if they're pouring crap into our rivers. I care if they're causing forests to be cut down in some 3rd world country, or causing Mayan temples to be used for construction materials, not if they're giving them jobs to feed their families. Well, unless it's a sweatshop that abuses their workers...

Not all factories in other countries, even 3rd world ones, are sweatshops. They are usually used to save money though. Part of that often makes it to the customer, but often not all of it. Some of it goes to pad the wallets of some overpaid people in the administration. Unfortunately, it's often not the only thing they do to save money too. Sometimes they're not so smart about what they're saving money on. This is why things made in foreign countries get such a bad rap.

There are a ton of reasons to buy things from some company over another. Hopefully, it gets easier to find out and manage the info about companies in the future. Maybe we'll get a little popup next to a product before we buy it, allowing us to look into the company. If a company has a factory in America with plenty of happy little employees with healthcare and good jobs, good, but it's not going to be my primary factor for buying, and manipulation isn't going to change that.

Sort:  

Well, unless it's a sweatshop that abuses their workers...

That there is the problem, friend. Conditions are commonly atrocious for workers; sleazy sweatshops might not make up all of the production overseas but it's a bad problem that takes lots of different forms. Not proud to be an iPhone user. It's really hard to consume smart in regards to that stuff, but it's possible. Nice post m8

I don't think the iPhone factory counts as a sweatshop. From what I've heard it's horrible though. There are all sorts of horrible places all over the place that don't technically count as sweatshops. Sadly, we have to often make debates on which companies we are going to support. Often we have to choose the lesser of a dozen evils or go without.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84