Elites and Drugs

in #life6 years ago

image.png
Opium Poppies Source

Reading a book I was impressed with the fact that Britain is considered to have been the biggest drug dealer the world has ever known, and since at that point in time the monarch was Queen Victoria she should take the honor of being the greatest drug dealer kingpin ever. Why is this, well opium dealings with China, where by the way it was illegal, accounted for a percentage of the whole yearly income of the empire in fact I have looked this up and it is thought that without this opium trade there would have been no successful industrial revolution. Now this last might be a little far fetched but the fact is drug dealing was huge for the UK and I am sure many fortunes were derived from it.

Now this got me thinking, would these elites have stopped drug dealing when it was such a money maker? I think not, somehow I think they continued with it perhaps not the same people but people at the same level, in fact I think they are the ones who outlaw drugs so prices explode and they can benefit from smuggling said drugs, and benefit enormously.

You know I have been reading about the El Chapo trial and also here in Honduras we have had a lot of drug dealers extradited to the US and a lot of noise is made about at last sending these criminals to face justice. But the thing is I always wonder how come I never hear about a huge drug importer in the US being caught I mean the guys who are really responsible for commercializing drugs to users, all that I hear are caught in the US are very small fry.

Now if you think about it you will notice that Latino drug dealers are supposed to be immensely rich, billionaires even, and I know some of the Hondurans who are now in the US were indeed very wealthy. But just think about how much money the guys who head the sale of drugs in the US must have. Because just look at multinationals, sure some guys in third world countries make money in the companies endeavours but the main recipients of wealth are the people who move the threads in the countries where sales are made. So I think the big drug dealers in the US, Europe, and the Far East must be incredibly more wealthy than the drug dealers we hear about.

How can these guys remain unnoticed. Well I guess the Queen Victoria analogy I started this out with must be the answer, the really big fish are members of the elites, they are untouchable and they just have the law enforcement bodies catch a few guys every now and then to keep things quiet. I am quite sure this is how it works, of course some of these elites are probably well known but others might be practically unknowns, but that there are billionaires making money off of drugs seems to be a fact to me.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gduran from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72