Hunting For Bargains At A Repossesed Car Auction

in #life6 years ago (edited)

After attending last weeks auction, the bug seems to have well and truly bitten me, as I wasted no time in finding another one to attend this week. In fact, it was thanks to the unfortunate platform of Facebook that I was informed of this auction, which claimed to also be a "supercar" auction.

More particularly, the first image on display was of a lovely looking Nissan R35 GTR, and who am I to say no to a potential good offer for a R35? I mean, if the price is right, then maybe it would be worth raising a paddle for the modern day incarnation of Godzilla (JDM fans and @nelkeljdm will appreciate that reference). And yes, there were plenty of other cars on offer, including the likes of Ferrari, Porsche, Bentley, and even a 1970 Ford Mustang.

DSC_0228.jpg
Cue Robin Thicke saying "I know you want it". Well, I want it...at least.

By now, regular readers are probably thinking..."why are you posting cellphone snaps from an auction? I want to see food and mountain photos taken with your DSLR!" Well, I enjoy sharing all adventures of my life here on Steemit, whether that be sitting on a mountainside for hours looking at the stars, flying my drone, or taking in a new experience - such as these auctions. So, come along for the ride and read about something different!

I arrived an hour before the designated start time to take a good look at the R35, and was able to inspect every centimeter of the car. I also had the chance to start the 3.8 V6 twin-turbo up, and it purred just fantastically. With only 11,000km on the clock, I really was tempted to potentially take this one home with me.

That was, until the auction started, and the price flew right past my limit quicker than the R35 does 0-100. Damn. On with the search then.

DSC_0234.jpg
I really hoped this somewhat unusual choice of interior trim would keep the price down.

But the age old question remains - is buying at an auction really worth it?

My first and previous auction didn't really give a good indication, as pretty much none of the cars sold. Throughout this auction, I took note of the sale prices of a few cars, and then came back home to compare them to similar listings on a local vehicle website. Below, you'll see my findings - you can decide for yourself if it's worth it.

Note: I've already included the 10% buyers commission into the auction price for a fair comparison, and converted the prices to USD, as very few people here are aware of my local currency.

2014 Mercedes-Benz C63 AMG Coupe

DSC_0225.jpg

Auction price: $44,000
Normal price: $56,800
Savings: $12,800

2016 BMW M2

DSC_0224.jpg

Auction price: $57,200
Normal price: $69,200
Savings: $12,000

2016 Nissan GTR Premium Edition

DSC_0233.jpg

Auction price: $96,000
Normal price: $112,000
Savings: $16,000

2011 Audi RS5

DSC_0241.jpg

Auction price: $26,640
Normal price: $34,440
Savings: $7,800

2011 BMW 750i M Sport

DSC_0243.jpg

Auction price: $17,440
Normal price: $30,400
Savings: $12,960

Unlike last weeks auction, nearly all of the 30 lots sold here, and it made for a great atmosphere in the warehouse - almost addictive. Watching people casually toss their arms up in the air in return for a car is something incredibly unique to watch, which is why I'll certainly be back (but maybe only when my budget is a bit higher, as I don't want to have my car end up back at the auction due to non-payments).

Would you have bought any of these cars for their going prices? Let me know below!

Sort:  

the only car that would appeal to me on that list would the GTR. Im not a japanese car fanatic, but sports luxury is a bit of an oddball world to me. I get that people want a luxary car as a daily driver, and have it be sport as well. But when I want a sport car, I want something thats geared for the car fanatic. Thats what the GTR is..... and the BMW M2. But Ive got a slower one thats cooler! :P

True, there's something undeniably attractive about the GTR. I would never daily drive one, on the basis that the "appeal" dies away (I DD my old WRX for a few years, the fun factor certainly took a knock).

Have you had much experience with the E60 M5? I took a look at one a few months ago here (a few can be had for dirt cheap in South Africa), but worried about gearbox and bearing issues.

nope, im not actually a car guy. If I had to only have one car, it would be a pickup truck, largely because im into dirtbikes and being in the woods. Hence why I dont care much about luxary, i want utility.

While the fun factor and glamour dies, youd just have to up the ante and start putting the car on the track. Thats why I dont need a sporty luxary car. Just a functional car that I love because it gets me where I want to be (deeeeep in the woods!)

Ah it's all good, thought you may have had a soft spot for BMW's :P Use the dirtbikes for weekend, and the pickup for everyday driving?

I agree with going on the track part - have done it quite a few times in the past, and will keep doing it. Take a look here to see me driving (and thankfully not crashing):

That red interior though.... makes me lus for a bunny chow

We can get a bunny chow and then use the spoiler as a table

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62205.45
ETH 2999.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79