Could You Eat only $20.84 for 1 week and eat healthy....Oh Yes you can!

in #life7 years ago

So I was looking for recipes that are unique and different to try and I stumbled upon this challenge. Could you eat $3 a day worth of food? I said WHAT? That is crazy, how was this even possible. So then I started to look at the break down of the grocery list (read below) and some of the meals that can be made and well I'll be damned, YOU CAN. Follow me to see how it is possible.

manwithgrocerybag-57a55d143df78cf459ae9739.jpg

Ok to start you have to go to the Grocery store. Here is what was purchased.

Eggs, approx 2 eggs per day-Protein
1 bag of dried Black Beans -Protein
1 bag of Split Peas
1 bag of Chick Peas
1 pkg of Chicken thighs on sale for $2.20
1 5lb bag of Potatoes $2 on sale
1 head of Cabbage $2
1 bag of Carrots $1 on sale
1 entire sweet potato
2 X peaches
2 X Limes
1 bag of Brown Rice $1.19
6 Bananas $. 50 a pound
1 pkg of Tortillas $.99 on sale
1 small bottle of vinegar $.79 on sale
1 small chunk of Ginger -$.30
a couple of Jalapeno's $.60
1 bundle of Scallions $1
1 bag of white onions $1.29
Grand Total = $20.84

So now on with the menu for the week.

Meal #1 Potato, scallion, Egg, carrot, and cut up Tortilla Omelette -Lunch
Meal #2 Rice and Chicken with carrots and cabbage, de-boned the chicken and save for a later recipe in the week.
Meal #3 Breakfast -Banana, Fried Rice, Eggs, Potato with a scallion all cooked up together in a frying pan.
Meal #4 Cabbage, Carrots, Vinegar with a little lime juice for a slaw, Cooked up chicken bones like a Buffalo wings and Potatoes
Meal #5 Banana egg pancakes
Meal #6 Potato Pancakes with scallions, added chick peas and rice and some chicken broth I made from the bones earlier.
Meal #7 Like an Oatmeal, Banana Rice, little carrot, egg all boiled up and mashed down into like a rice pudding.
Meal #8 Black Bean chick pea Tortillas with a little carrots.
Meal #8 Black bean soup with fried Tortillas and a little cabbage and carrots in the soup, blended in blender
Meal #9 Tortilla fried with a hole in the middle, with a egg and scallions on top
Meal #10 Salad, with cooked chick pea croutons in oven, with carrots, onions, black beans

So that is the snap shot of what that grocery list made. You can get creative, go crazy, and just have fun with a challenge like this, and save yourself some money.

I CHALLENGE YOU! Please share if you take my challenge, would love to see your results.

Happy Trails

Sources:
https://www.thebalance.com/best-websites-with-printable-grocery-coupons-938739

Sort:  

Upvoted and resteemed. I'm always looking for ways to cut the grocery bill. Meal planning is a must, but I've gotten away from it the last month or so. I need this to kick me back in gear!

In South Sudan for shure

This is a GREAT challenge! I'm always looking for ways to eat healthy on a budget.

I'm definitely passing this post on to my wife @ allforthegood. Thanks.

Try $1 a day in Guatemala :)

Cool post! Cheers from Canada!

Hello my Fellow Canadian, and Happy Birthday Canada to you this weekend. 150.....eh! Now FOLLOWING YOU.

:-)We have a great country!

Are you from Newfoundland? Your name makes me think so.

Ontario Kid

Me too

Solid plausibility. Definitely a cheap meal plan thanks.

Good job. And a lot of it I can eat as a vegan even. I have been needing to start doing meal prep myself because I really need to save money on food. I have gotten better and now only spend about $180 a month on food but I know I could cut that down a bit. Thanks for the much needed reminder.

Little bit of a motivator for sure. Thought many needed this kick in the butt. Over the summer months when gardens are flourishing, it can be even less. Glad you liked it. Needed some fresh content that can really help people out.

I am disabled and have no yard, live in a tiny apartment in a complex in the city. XD I am pretty limited to the local store for the time being but I can still spend way less than $200 a month if you are getting by on $20 a week. :O

I have no idea what I spend on groceries in a month, I usually don't keep track of it. I'm guessing that it's around 120 dollars or so, and some of that goes toward junk food. We eat pretty simple meals that don't cost much to make. A lot of rice, a lot of potatoes, not much meat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45