Help Your Neighbour Day?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

images (6).png

Image Source
Yesterday, while on a public transit to a seminar in the capital of Lagos, I looked sideways and my eyes fell on a sticker which hung on the ceiling of the lurching bus. The sticker, bearing the picture of a smiling man in black suit, carried a brief message: Help Your Neighbour Day.

I became curious. So, I looked at the sticker more closely and found that it was an invitation to a church programme. In short, the man in the black suit was a pastor and convener of the programme.

At once, I became interested in the programme. I wanted to attend, to see how an help-your-neighbour-day would turn out, to see how people will file out to throw money and food on their neighbours, but the programme, telling from the date on the sticker, had been held already.

For the rest of the journey I wondered how degenerated our generation has become. I wondered why a certain day of the year had to be specially tagged help your neighbour day before some people would stretch a helping hand towards their neighbours. I wondered the essence of an help-your-neighbour day when every day of our lives ought to be dedicated to helping our neighbours, the known and unknown people that come our ways.

Giving to the poor, helping a stranger in need, giving a free ride, helping children to cross the highway, a visit to the orphanage, etc are services we ought to regularly render. There ought to be no special day to help our neighbour.

While I cannot blame the convener of the event for conceiving and organizing such a programme, I am vexed in my spirit that we are not doing enough in our human duty of putting a smile on the faces of others. If we were doing enough, there would have been no such programmes.

I hope that it will be the last time I would see programmes tagged help your neighbour day. We don't have to wait on someone else to call us into action before we help others. Helping others is our duty - we live for it and only give meaning to our lives when we do it. Help your neighbour every day, whenever you can.

SUPPORT CORNER

Kindly follow the peerless vocabulary lessons delivered by @majes.tytyty and get rewarded with some upvotes for your participation.


Are you a minnow and you're already thinking of giving up on Steemit? Please don't quit. Kindly follow @Steemitcentral and use the steemitcentral tag in your posts to get some upvotes.

IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg


I am @gandhibaba, the young man who goes about carrying his magical pen, not his gun, in his pockets.

Gandhi banner (925px, 25fps).gif

Gif courtesy of @artzanolino


Thanks for visiting my blog. I appreciate your precious time.

Sort:  

As you state so clearly, every day is "Help your neighbour day."

Vastly clean :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56855.37
ETH 2976.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39