You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Advice Before Deciding to Teach English In Japan, China or Korea

in #life7 years ago

I actually did teach in Korea as an ESL Teacher a number of years ago. I loved it and was paid well, especially for a newly minted graduate. The experience had many many highs and some deep lows, but I look back on it so positively. The personal growth was immense.

However, it wasn't so easy to get the gig for me specifically. I had initially set my heart on Japan. But, even at that time, competition was fierce. I wasn't accepted into any of the main programs that brings teachers abroad and would rarely hear back from direct inquiries. So I began exploring the Korea scene.

Interestingly, I discovered it was so much easier to get a job there... for others.
I'd see forum posts with everyone getting 5-10 job offers out of 10-20 resume submits. Me? I got 1 out of 30. And it wasn't because I wasn't qualified. I had all the right criteria on paper.

What I ended up realizing at that time when I finally took the one Gig that accepted me was that Korean parents expect to be taught by someone of Caucasian descent. And that's not what I am :) So there was an incredible bias which my bosses didn't believe in because they had actually hired someone of my ethnicity before, and I guess in stereotypical fashion realized we actually could do the job well. Ironic in many ways based on my chats with them at the time.

I didn't take it personally, just realized how unique of a challenge race can be when approaching some of these countries as a teacher.

Loved the article. Keep it up and good luck on the application process for next year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59439.79
ETH 2290.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48