Yes, but how big is your cup holder...

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Materialistic: Excessively concerned with material possessions.
One-upmanship: The technique or practice of gaining an advantage or feeling of superiority over another person.

Think about those two definitions...They don't sound positive do they? They're not, and yet it seems the population is on a collision-course with both on a daily basis. Sure, we need things: Food, shelter and warmth primarily. But if we're to feel slightly more evolved than our neanderthal-ancestors it seems we need 300 pairs of Jimmy Choo shoes or that new phone...(Your's is 12 months old after-all.) Oh, we also need Pandora bracelet's, better power tools and well, you get the idea. I am not judging by the way. I have things too, want things and sometimes even put want over need. I prefer to do it the other way where possible though.


How about those cup holders...

This week I bought a new car in anticipation of my new position starting in July. My 4x4 is not an appropriate option and the package comes with a car-allowance. So, I'm there at the Toyota dealer speaking with the young salesperson, outlining my needs, what I want and importantly, what I don't want. She seemed to be on-board and fully understanding of everything, including my budget.

She wandered about the showroom and landed on a vehicle that looked great. She began her six-position sell and focused on...The very things I had said I don't want. It was a little disconcerting especially since I had explained things already. Anyway, the long story cut short is that I readjusted her understanding, again, and I purchased the vehicle I had gone in to purchase.

My point though is that she had not listened and had made an assumption that I would want the very best that I could afford despite that coming with features I didn't want or need. "Yes, but it's got lane-departure warning, the cruise control is radar-equipped, it has Blaupunkt audio, and the seats are heated...Plus, look at the size of those cup holders..." Blah, blah, blah.

She was simply doing what most people would do in this society; Assuming that a consumer would want faster, better features, bigger wheels, louder stereo and so on.

I believe 100% that people should strive to be the best person they can be as often as possible, to develop their understanding, enjoyment of life and their wealth. (Notice I didn't say money?) I firmly believe in this, but at the same time having the best car in the street, the biggest house, the most shoes...Well, it doesn't mean much if that person lives beyond their means. What happened to finding satisfaction in the smaller things in life; Family, personal success at sport or work, that holiday to Mexico you always wanted.

I doubt most people would find themselves lying on their deathbed at 88 years old surrounded by family uttering the words, "I'm so glad I got that extra big cup holder."

Thanks for reading and have a great day.

Images from: autowpaper.com & caradvice.com.au

Sort:  

Very good reaD thanks galenkp

Thanks for reading and commenting. Much appreciated. 😉

Great post and very TRUE. That's the mentality most sales people use to try to fish clients in not understanding that majority of people that are in the market to buy a car are on budget. I personally care about the driving comfort of my vehicles and when shopping for a car I also go in with specific requests and it seems like they are trying to sell the other features that don't really concern me.

To true. It makes the experience unpleasant usually. Thanks for reading and commenting. Much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 69527.07
ETH 2514.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55