Win with humility lose with grace

in #life6 years ago

I believe myself to be a humble person generally; I don't brag about or push my success or achievements in peoples faces and feel I accept good results with graciousness. Hubris is not one of my personality traits.

Today I competed in the final competition day for a year-long tactical long range rifle shooting competition. I have been sitting in second place overall for most of the year and despite missing the last two competitions due to being away shooting other national competitions interstate I went into today's competition with a chance to retain second place for the year. I believe there were 5-6 of us who were shooting for this second placing as the first place holder is un-catchable at this point.

Today, despite the whole year coming down to this last competition I decided to risk using my new rifle, which I had only picked up on Thursday night. Not only that, I shot it using factory ammunition rather than the hand-loaded precision ammunition I would usually make for a competition and with a scope that is not mine. I was asked by a re-seller to try it out as it's brand new into the country and this seemed like a good opportunity. So, I wasn't going into the competition with a lot of confidence, certainly not as confident as I would be if I were using my tried and tested competition rifle.

We shot seven stages with complexity levels from medium to extremely difficult. It was physical and considering the 32 degree cloudless day and no shade, it was unpleasant. We were shooting from a range of 253m to 1200m off barricades and prone, under duress of time with physical challenge thrown in also. Needless to say that on almost every shot the heart was pumping hard and lungs were heaving.

By the end of the day I was feeling worn out. I'm 47 and have trouble keeping up with shooters I compete against as they are years younger and fitter than I am. I think I am the oldest shooter by about 15 years actually. I didn't need to wait for the results to know I had shot poorly. I ended up finishing 9th of 15 shooters. I know where I lost my points and why; Unfortunately stupidity was my main failure today rather than my shooting. On one particular stage I actually failed to dial in my elevation requirements to my elevation turret so was was shooting and missing! An idiotic and rookie mistake I haven't made for a couple of years. So, I finished 5 points away from 4th place as each place above me was only secured by a point over the next.

I drove the two hours home in disgust and will do the debrief of my performance tomorrow when I am less annoyed at myself. I had fun shooting, that's always a given, but I am so dejected with myself.

It's fortunate that I don't take these things too hard though and have the ability to move on and focus on the next thing on the agenda. Today's poor showing will cost me second place in the annual standings, probably even third. I won't know until the end of year event this coming Friday night but by then I will have put it aside, dealt with the disappointment and moved on. I have an IPSC (tactical pistol competition) taking place on Saturday so I need to get my game face on all over again.

One of my favourite sayings, and one I end posts with here and there is: Vincit qui se vincit which is Latin for "He conquers twice who conquers himself when he is victorious” which sort of means that a person should control the urge to be arrogant, smug, cruel or vindictive when they win. Today I didn't win, far from it in fact, but I am glad that when I do I do so with modesty and humility.

Vincit qui se vincit
@galenkp

Sort:  

Victories are far too infrequent for me, to give up the opportunity to posture and strut.
Chances to lose gracelessly however, are myriad. :)

:) That’s a good point actually. I probably should define that a win for me is not necessarily 1st place. If I get a top 4 place I feel my efforts have been rewarded. I shoot against some pretty serious operators. Thanks for your comment mate. Feel free to brag to me about any future wins mate. I’m happy to celebrate your brilliance with you! :)

I jammed my eye socket right up hard against the scope of my steyr during a qualification shoot in basic training.
Didn't want my grouping to suffer by changing my eye relief so I powered through the next 4 rounds, knowing it was coming, but unable to enjoy the luxury of flinching.

Shooting in the forces is different to shooting for fun like I do now. I have points on the line but in the forces is often a greater objective and lives. Respect to all who serve.

Right on. FOLLOWED

Thanks mate, much appreciated.

If you look at it from a non-competitive position, it was testing a new rig and skills under stress. There is practical value in that.

Yeah I agree. Shooting the new rifle system was always going to be a challenge but I had thought I could make it work considering my experience. I’ll be writing my logbook today so will break down every stage, shot, environmental condition, hit and miss and studying it over time. This morning I woke up feeling better about it, at peace with the result; It’s history now anyway, but I have to learn from it and analyze it with brutal honesty.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00