This menial repetitive task matches my slightly OCD nature...

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I've got just over a week before the IPSC State Titles where I'll compete against a couple hundred other shooters from around the country and overseas. Apparently the world's number 1 shooter in my class will be shooting at the competition so I hope to shoot in his squad. It'll be demoralising and probably embarrassing but I'll learn a bucket load of stuff from him.

Anyway, tonight I was loading ammunition for the State Title shoot and I thought I'd share some images and (badly shot) video of the process for those who are interested to see the machine in action. I hand load my own rifle ammunition one by one for accuracy and precision but with pistol ammunition I use a progressive press. A Dillion one. It's ingenious. Each down and upward stroke produces a bullet and multiple actions happen at each stage as follows.

Empty case feeds, case is deprimed of old primer, case is resized, case is primed with new primer, case is charged with gun powder, bullet is placed, bullet is seated and crimped, bullet drops into the tub complete. See the video below.


The press in action showing the stages. Right at the end you can see the feed tubes for the empty cases and projectile. This one is making 38 Super and I made 9mm tonight also.


This shows the case feeding. The cases are poured into a hopper above with sets them the right way and feeds them down this tube. They are then fed onto the die turntable for the loading process.


Here's the hopper that holds the empty cases. See the case at the front is the right way up? It's about to drop down the tube ready for the loading turntable.


The projectile hopper does the same thing.


This is the turntable where all the action happens. Freedom pills drop out into a tub after a turn on the turntable ready for the quality assurance process.


Here it is again. You can see the case to the front is charged with gun powder at this stage.


This image is the whole machine. You can see the two hoppers at the top, the blue on the right is for the cases and the black to the left the projectiles. If you look carefully you can see the two feed tubes full of projectiles and cases. The primer feed tube is hidden by the hopper containing the grey gun powder.


Here's a closer image of the gun powder hopper and projectile feed tube.

This machine is incredibly well designed. Once set up (that's a fiddly annoying job) it can do thousands of rounds before needing any maintenance at all. It has a few idiosyncrasies but is typically very reliable. This progressive press has made more than 50,000 rounds. That's a lot.

I have not gone into detail with this post as it can get reasonably complicated but you get the idea. There are other factors like cleaning the once-fired brass prior to loading, weighing the gun powder charge and making sure the bullet is not loaded too low. The lower the charge the less the recoil. In a competition that would give someone an advantage through greater accuracy due to lower recoil. There are minimum power factors involved in IPSC shooting and 8 rounds from each shooter will be tested during the State Titles.

So, tonight instead of walking the dog, watching TV, going to the gym or whatever other people do I made 1,000 rounds of ammunition. It took about 2 hours to make them and was pretty much done by sitting there pulling the handle with the occasional supporting activity like filling hoppers with cases, powder, projectiles and primers. The machine does most of the work. Hopefully you found this post interesting. If you read down to here you must have. If not then that's ok too.

Design and create your ideal life, and aim small, miss small
@galenkp

I apologise for the poor photography and video. I was not really set up for it and need to pump out some rounds quickly. Forgive me.

Sort:  

This is really interesting, I'm buying reloaded ammunition but soon I will start reloading on my own. How's the press doing, do you recommend that?
@galenkp

It's a good press. Costly to buy but considering how much pistol ammo I go through it's a requirement. The press in the images is about $2,000 (AUD) of value. I can get S&B ammo at $100/250 rounds but their power factor is too high creating more recoil and making it more difficult to get back on target for the second shot. There's various reasons to reload. My rifle stuff is hand loaded for precision. Everything is weighed, measured, trimmed to small and very precise measurements. That's required to shoot out to long range. (I'm shooting to a mile (1.6km)

You s.o.b. I didn’t know you reloaded too. I had a Dillon 550 for loading .45 acp. Never used a set-up as automated as yours. Building a space for reloading is on the list for spring. Taking the RCBS Rockchucker out of mothballs to load some 6.5 Creedmoor is the plan. Good luck at the match. Remember....FRONT SIGHT - PRESS.

Haha, yeah @dissfordents, I reload: 9mm, 38 Super, 6.5 creedmoor, .308, .6mm and 22.250. Keeps me busy. I like it though. I find it relaxing.

Ok, so FRONT SIGHT - PRESS is great advice. i'm always running, "front sight, front sight front sight", through my head when I shoot pistols. It's so different to my long range rifle stuff and making the transition can be difficult. I practice draw, grip, target acquisition, front sight, press at home every day. Trying to create that muscle memory.

The match this Saturday is for practice and the State Titles...Well, I'll probably not place well. The year is all about learning and practice. I will do my best though.

My reloading room is my garage. It's set up pretty well but is not always as tidy as I would like. The messy-fairies must get in there and f^ck it up all the time when I'm not looking!

Set me straight on something. What I get from the NRA gun rights people is Australia all but outlawed sporting firearms. From what I get on Steemit and Youtube there’s a vigorous shooting community in the land down under. What gives?

Ok, so semi-auto rifles are restricted. One must have a C class license which means you're either a primary producer or a professional "pest controller" (i.e. culls by helo). One semi-auto is permitted in these cases. No one else, except the government STAR, SERT (like SWAT) etc. and the military can possess them. 338 Lap is also restricted though.

We can't have pump action shot guns but the Rem 7615P is permitted including the 30 round magazine (I have one of these). All semi auto pistols and revolvers are also permitted. We can also have lever action shotguns like the Adler and the mag extension is permitted giving an 8 shot capacity.

I have an RPR in 6.5CM, Tikka T3 .308, T3 22.250, Tikka CTR 6mm, 7615P, CZP09, STI in 38 Super, Beretta 12g under/over, 1918 SMLE .303...And the list goes on.

There's a lot of talk about our gun laws here but it's really not as bad as people make out. Some states outlaw folding stocks but that's changing too. Restrictions were placed after the 35 person massacre at Port Arthur click back there to read about it. I did a post on it too.

We can't carry pistols and there's movement and storage restrictions which are quite tight but realistically we are not that badly off. Sure, we don't have the AR's, CAR15's, M16's and the like but not much we can do about it. Storing a firearm in a car is not permitted and there are strict requirements around safes and storage.

There is about 850,000+ gun licences in Australia currently and a lot of guns. we shoot at clubs and on private property. I do both as I am licensed to cull on a cattle farm. Adelaide alone has some 15 or so gun shops/dealers that service a total population of just over a million people so thats a lot of gun shops. I have 6 mates who are licensed, operating gun dealers all within a 30 minute drive from where I live.

The shooting community is very active indeed. I have read many comments (from the USA) about how lame Australian's are because of our gun laws but the law is the law and so we make do which what we have.

Here's a comp I have helped put together to introduce new shooters to the sport...https://steemit.com/life/@galenkp/aim-small-miss-small-but-have-a-great-time-doing-it this weekend. I also shoot PRS Aus (which is an off-shoot of PRS (out of the US) and IPSC. I shoot a couple of times a week, at least. Sometimes more. If you look hard enough you'll find plenty of video, including interviews, of me from shooting comps on YouTube. I don't promote them as I prefer to keep a low profile generally. Besides, I don't like the sound of my voice...

So, does that help @dissfordents?

Yeah, it sure does. I thought the firearms restrictions were more draconian than what you have. Here in the US laws vary from state to state. I happen to live - by design - in a State with very few restrictions on firearms, for now.
Banning .338 Lapua? I have stopped trying to figure out the logic behind what's banned and what isn't.
Back in the '90's I went to Gunsite in Arizona, before the proliferation of shooting schools all over America. Jeff Cooper was the founder and I think he was influential in getting IPSC off the ground too.
Maybe I'll find you in a Youtube video......

I think the general perception for those that are not in the know is that our gun laws are very strict. I'm happy with our laws though, in the main. I mean i'd like the opportunity to have an AR and carry a pistol however that's not possible so I have to make do with what I have. I've got a few guns and shoot some more than others. I generally only shoot when I'm culling, practicing or competing, I rarely just take a heap of guns out and shoot for no reason. Ammo is too costly and take too long to prepare to do that. I'm just about to by an STI edge (9mm, or 38 Super possibly) to shoot in the Standard division in IPSC actually. Been a while to come to the decision but I know the National STI warranty repairer/gunsmith personally and he kind of convinced me. It's good to have first-hand knowledge of the problems, (or lack of) that I will face prior to buying the gun. keen as.

Anyway, I am happy to have cleared up a myth for you. Our laws vary from state to state also but generally are similar. We are not as regulated and draconian as you thought. :)


STI Edge

Here in Poland we can have semi auto rifles, so 3 gun competitions are really nice :)

Cool. What systems do you own and shoot with?

sfor now i own only HK SFP9 , soon will get pump action shotgun and AR-15

Cool. The sport is somewhat addictive and over the years I've ended up with many guns. We are (generally) not allowed to have AR's though so I don't have one. Would love to though! All the best with your 3-gunning.

thanks for this info @galenkp

I do a bit of hunting and always wondered how the reloading process works. It seems like an art in itself! Nice one!

This is simply one way of making bullets. It’s a lot more complicated than my post but didn’t want to get too technical. Theses are pistol rounds. My rifle rounds are a different thing altogether. You should check it out on YouTube. It’s interesting. There’s loads of video showing what it’s all about.

Generally for hunting purposes you don’t need to reload but for greater precision at long range reloading is essential. A lot of people think we do it for the lower cost but it’s not about that really. Not for rifles anyway.

With my pistol rounds it’s about 10-13 cents cheaper per round to reload so about .23 cents per round. With rifle rounds it’s about 30 cents cheaper but the accuracy is why we do it. My rifle rounds cost $2.20 (Australian dollars) each to reload. It all depends on the quality of brass, projectile and primer used I guess.

Thanks for the input

That is a pretty impressive machine! I reload with a Lee single stage so you can imagine how time consuming that is! Hope your foot feels better for the match, Take Care

I use an RCBS single stage press to do my rifle stuff. Takes a long time. I shoot that many pistolnrounds though that I need to reload then faster hence the progressive press.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66