Road to nowhere

in #life5 years ago

This is a photograph I took on a salt lake in South Australia, a place called Lochiel to be precise. It's called lake Bumbunga [funny name I know] and salt has been mined there since 1881, and still is today. The salt in the water causes that pink colour to come out sometimes, a chemical reaction of some sort, which gives the lank a bit of interest.

It has become somewhat of a tourist attraction with many people parking up at the very small town [population under 100 people] and taking a walk on the lake...When there is little or no water in it anyway.

I took this photo a couple of days ago. You can see the tracks made by some yahoo in a four wheel drive pictured above. See how the tracks are full of water? That's because the water seeps up from beneath the surface and what looks like solid ground is in fact more like quicksand. The hapless wanker that thought he'd drive onto the lake here and do some circle-work probably got a rude shock when the vehicle quickly sank into the surface. You can just make out the tracks up ahead where he/she powered on after the initial sinking. They stop there abruptly though and the vehicle went no further. It was probably a city-driver who knew no better as country people sort of know when circle-work on the lake is achievable.


Lake Bumbunga.

I am a firm believer in applying the right attitude and persistence to everything I do however we need also to apply common sense as well don't you think? There's little point reaching a brick wall in a dead end street and banging one's head against it in an attempt to overcome the obstacle. The definition of madness is doing the same thing and expecting a different result after all. Better to learn from the information we have gained, to adapt and overcome.

Life will always throw challenges our way. Always. We know it, but not necessarily what that challenge will be or when it will present itself. What we do know however is that we can apply the right attitude, common sense, ownership, responsibility and effort into dealing with it with the view to overcome the challenge. Or we can admit defeat, the failure. I know which choice I prefer to make.

"Failure should be our teacher, not our undertaker. Failure is delay, not defeat. It is a temporary detour, not a dead end. Failure is something we can avoid only by saying nothing, doing nothing, and being nothing." - Denis Waitley

I like the quote above as it pulls no punches. It says that failure will come but should be seen as valuable information, a platform from which to launch our next attempt, rather than the end of trying.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
Hit me up on Discord: @galenkp#9209

Sort:  

Cool pics - I never knew there was a pink lake north of Adelaide? There's plenty of other around Oz. All due to salt I think?
Those dickhead tracks look quite wide or is that your camera?

All due to salt I think?

Yep, as per my post content.

Those dickhead tracks look quite wide or is that your camera?

Probably the camera. They didn't seem any wider than any standard 4x4 would leave when I saw them. Photo was taken from almost ground level though, so that's probably it.

What a lovely place. Looks a bit like a sunset that settled down to inhabit the earth.

As yucky as failure is at times, life would be very dull if it was all smooth sailing. I've been coming to terms with that lately - life shouldn't be all smooth sailing.

Agreed. What you said reminds me of a line from The Count of Monte Cristo

"It is necessary to have wished for death in order to know how good it is to live" Alexandre Dumas

It sort of means that only through experiencing the bad can we come to truly value the good.

Posted using Partiko Android

The pink lake in the background and the purple caltrops in the foreground makes for a nice shot XD

Think it would have been much funnier if the circle jerker worker had bogged (I'm not vindictive at all).

Haha, I know right? That would have made a better post too huh? There’s a sign that warns about driving on there too, but then maybe they couldn’t read? I’m disappointed they’re weren’t still there trying to recover the vehicle. Maybe next time, I drive that way a lot.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Is that Salvation Jane? The purple peril? I remember seeing it as a kid, but there must've been an eradication program down my way, because I haven't seen them in years.

Won't see much Salvation Jane around these days. This is thistle though.

Here's Salvation Jane.

I just confused Tasmania for New Zealand over on @izzydawn's post.
I haven't been drinking, but somebody needs to hide my keys.

Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Was that your tracks in the photo🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Didn't read the post?

No idea who made the tracks. Some idiot that had no idea I guess. Not the first and won't be the last.

Yes I did just wondering if that some happened to be you🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

I think if it did I'd probably not admit it on the blockchain. Still, I'm sure in my younger days I might have done something just as dumb...Like light a paddock on fire...Yeah, I've done some dumb shit in my life...Driving on a salt lake isn't one of them...yet. :)

Lol and yes I have done some dumb things to🤪

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, I thought you change the color of the water with photoshop or something before I read your blog. Amazing salt😁

Always good words mate. Life will always bring unexpected challenges. Indeed.

And an excellent view. Autumn in the down under looks pretty warm still.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Autumn in the down under looks pretty warm still.

Can be. Only 18 today and 16 tomorrow. But yeah, Aus is a good place to be mate. One of the best I reckon!

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.449 which ranks you at #2095 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 11 places in the last three days (old rank 2106).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 172 contributions, your post is ranked at #42.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Wow amazing place. I would so like being there :) I love failure, don't remember who said it, I think JK Rowling, but it was something like you can fail and get better or not do anything at all in life, in which case, you fail by default.

Yeah, it's a cracker spot. There's hidden gems like this all over Australia.

Yep, I think that was a JKR quote. I recall reading is somewhere. It's legit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @galenkp! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.02
ETH 3517.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.09