I spy with my little eye: From anywhere in the world!

in #life7 years ago

Finding balance is easy for me; Yesterday I was shooting an IPSC pistol match and watched the new Star Wars movie in the evening and today I was working around the house. Weekends are pretty good for us, balanced between fun and chores, although lamentably, always too bloody short.

Today I spent the latter part of the day installing some home surveillance equipment I had recently purchased. I now have the ability to monitor particular areas of my home from anywhere in the world and also have the ability to talk to any potential intruders. I don't know what I'd say to them but am sure I'd come up with something suitable when the need arises. My doorbell now calls my mobile phone and gives me video and sound in real time. I can answer the door without even being home. It's not a bad system to be honest and is all reasonably easy to install and set up. After extensive testing just now it all seems 100% operational and good to go.

I don't live in an area that could be considered a particularly high-risk location as far as incidences of crime go however I like to be prepared and it's better to be squared away than floundering about after an incident wishing I was more prepared. I wrote a post a week ago about the need for preparation when it comes to home security, or an awareness of home security at the very least! You can read that post here.

I'm not overly technical in nature really however this install was absolutely no stress for me at all and I think anyone could do it even with a simple set of tools. I used my own cordless drill (for screwing the fasteners) and my own screws as I wanted to use stainless steel ones. A couple of hours of work and some fine-tuning and it's operational. I think this sort of product is essential in this day and age and with the installation being so easy there's no excuse not to have something set up. Your home is your castle, and your family are worth the small cost and effort.

Design and create your ideal life, don’t live it by default
@galenkp

Photo by Matthew Henry on Unsplash

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49