Is it a real crisis or just boredom...

in #life7 years ago (edited)

image

It's related to my life at work, not anything else. I love my life in general as I have so much to be thankful for; I just seem to have grown this innate dislike for my job. Is it the people I work with? The job itself or the company I work for? Or something else completely? I sit and peep pondering on these questions over and over and for some reason cannot seem to come to a genuine and acceptable conclusion.

Fair to say some of the people I work with are great and a couple of people I find difficult to deal with. I accept that no doubt in any workplace you may find you don't get along with everyone and that's ok right?

So then maybe it's the job? I like my job; some of the time. However over the past year I have seen it very differently. Is it marred because of the above and some of the people or intrinsically the job. It comes with very little thanks, me begging for information to be able to do my job & if I do get the info it's normally so close to my deadline or even after it that adds to the pressure to torun something out that is worthy. When it's not up to standard all I seem to get it grief from those in a position of power not even caring or listening to myself or others that I cannot be my fault if I don't get what I need in time. Should I shoulder the blame? Most think I shouldn't but are to cautious not wanting to cause themselves more problems in the workplace.

So then it comes to the company culture...perhaps that where it has gone wrong? I'm not sure; there a future of aspiring to do great things for ourselves, for our colleagues, community, country and the company along with mission statements goals and developmental targets for us.

Maybe it not then the company either...my managers then? Possibly as this is the only other thing it could be. Should they listen to me and do something about it rather than protecting their own?

My mum told me about a book I should read called the "Peter Principle" might be worth a shot and says managers like that seem to have teflon shoulders and get promoted to their own levels of incompetence...

I think she's right but that still leaves me
searching for something more stuck in a rut and don't know which way to turn...is there more to life than the rat races find myself living for the weekend and disliking how fast they go and dreading bedtime on Sunday evenings.

If you haven't read my previous posts feel free to go have a read and upvote if you like them.

Follow me for more daily ramblings 😊

Sort:  

I've felt the same way for the past few months. In my case, I quit. Yesterday was my last day in fact. The relief is slowly settling in, even without a job lined up now.

For me it was almost all about the company culture. Most people were good, the work I was doing was fine, but the culture felt really oppressive.

I don't suggest outright quitting, but maybe it's time for new scenery. Start putting out resumes. Even if you have cold feet, you can always reject offers that come in. Maybe you find something great, or maybe the experience gives you a newfound appreciation for your job now.

Whatever happens, I wish you the best :)

@johnyliltoe thanks, so there is light at the end of the tunnel with this one then?

Glad you managed to come to the decision; the right once clearly for you as you say the relief is already starting to set in.

I wish you luck on your journey and hope that I can figure out the right way forward for me soon, just thought if I put pen to paper and got it out of my system it might help me to get to that decision and maybe there would be some helpful advice along the way.

That's a good move. Writing things down and putting them out publicly can really help put things in perspective. Thankfully this is a pretty friendly community where it's usually safe to do so.

I think there will be a light at the end of the tunnel for you for sure. Just think about what would make your situation better and act on it! With reservation of course; if you do quit, I don't particularly recommend doing any of this:

Brilliant! Thanks for the YouTube vid...made my day 👍🏻

Glad to help :D

Hi @gaffersunicorn I understand how your feeling. I'm dealing with some difficult people at this time myself. I just take a deep breath and hope for things to get better. I will follow you

Hi @happyhousewife - thank you for your comment. Nice to know that people are reading what I wrote and even nicer when they take the time to comment, upvote and follow or any combination of those things. Appreciate your advice. Just have to remember to breathe on Monday morning and not hold that deep breath in otherwise I will end up a blue unicorn and not multicoloured and multifaceted as usual...

lol you got it my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66858.35
ETH 3088.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72