STORYTELLER: Season I, Episode I

in #life7 years ago

Welcome to Storyteller: Season I, Episode I.

If you ask someone you know, whether he or she could tell you a story, you will find, that not many will be able to tell you a story that is not about them or anything related to them. Storytelling was once a very common form of entertainment but it seem to die out, although I made the experience, that no one I ever told a story to, was ever not enjoying it. As a writer, I am very fascinated about story telling. In this format I want to share with you the stories, that influenced me in my developement, that fascinated, amazed or simply made me happy. I hope you'll enjoy!

The Two Legged Fox

Many many years ago there was a man which had everything his neighbours desire. He was a very wealthy and intelligent trader and everyone in his community respected him. He was a good husband to a beautiful wife and a proud father of two.
Old-Indian-Trader--110346.jpg
But when he became 65, he realized that something was missing in his life and he did not felt as satisfied with himself as he should feel. He came to the conclusion, since he possed everything material one could ever wish for, that his problems rooted on a spiritual level.
So he went to the jungle and he searched for a tree under whish he could meditate. He walked a while into the green but not too far, because If he got hungry he could just walk back to his village to eat. Under a big tree he settled.
jbhsao6dyide3d7vmm4v.jpg
He meditated one hour. He meditated two hours. Three, four and then five hours went by when he heard his stomach mumbling. So he decided to head back to the village.
It was on his way back when he saw a fox in the bushes.
red-fox-face-wallpaper-2.jpg
The fox had only two legs, but to the mans suprise it looked well-nourished and not unhealthy at all. The man was wondering: "How come that fox is so well-fed. Nature is cruel and punishes every disability. This fox should not be alive!".

Eventually the man kept going, back to his village, his family and to dinner.

The next day he returned to the jungle, to the same mangrove and meditated once again. After a few hours, as he was on his way back, he saw the fox again. And again the fox looked healthy and not hungry at all. Once again he was suprised. In fact, he was so suprised that he decided to watch the fox and to find out what his secret was. It did not take long for something to happen. Out of the brushes stepped a mighty lion.
9429278404_d17433f4b1_z.jpg
In his jaw he carried a fresh piece of meat which he gave to the fox.
"Unbelievable!", the man though. "A mighty lion is feeding this small, unsightly creature. This must be a sign of the gods! But what do the gods want to tell me?", he was wondering. "I got it! Everyday I interrupt my meditation to go back to my village to get something to eat. The gods want to show me that I only need to sit down and wait and they will provide for me like the lion provides for the two legged fox!"
So the man did not go back to the village and settled at the spot under the mangrove. He meditated for one, then for another. After three whole days he could barely sit straight. And after 5 days he was laying on the ground, crying from pain and hunger.

A yogi walked through the jungle as he heard sounds of agony tearing through the harmonious silence of the lifely jungle. He hurried to find the source of the painful howls.
5835323797_83d251541d_z.jpg
As he arrived at the tree where the man was crouching, he asked him: "What happened to you, that you are in such pain?" The man gathered his strength and led the yogi to the two legged fox told him his story.

"Don't you think it's a sign from the gods? Don't you think they wanted to teach me a lesson. And if it is true why am I at this point now, in pain and torment for that I followed their lead?", the man asked desperately. The yogi thought for a while before he replied: "I think you are right. I think you received a sign from the gods. But tell me, good man. What in the world made you chose to be a two legged fox, instead of a generous lion?"

I hope you guys have enjoyed this story as much as I did and if you did so feel free to share it with your friends! Love and Light and a wonderful day for you.

  • Gabriel
Sort:  

Congratulations @gabrielthal! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

welcome to steemit :)
love storys like this one :D where is it from?

Thanks buddy! I heard it in a YT video of Sadghuru but I doubt that he made it up. It's probably an older indian story

very good

Congratulations @gabrielthal! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64850.80
ETH 3471.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55