Mexican food is very lacking in Da Nang

in #life10 months ago

Mexican food is likely one of the most popular kinds of food in the world. I personally love it and haven't found many North Americans that feel differently. Unfortunately, it must be quite difficult to arrange the ingredients for it here in Da Nang because of the 3 dedicated Mexican restaurants we have here in Da Nang, none of them are particularly good. There are a lot of places that have a Mexican section on their menu but these spots are even worse.

Recently I tried a new place that was advertising burrito bowls as a staple of their existence and I was extremely excited and hopeful that they would actually nail it. They had some sort of Chipotle style setup inside the joint and it was at that moment that I started to feel like maybe, just maybe, this place would be the one that would finally put Mexican food on the map for Da Nang. Unfortunately, I was very wrong.


image.png

There you have it folks: A pulled pork burrito bowl with lettuce, picked onions, some other stuff, and a spicy salsa. I'd like to say that it was amazing but it was far from it. This is a large portion but I like large portions, but I didn't even finish it because it was very lacking in the most important part of any Mexican dish: Mexican spices. I think they are missing the point when they call themselves "Mexican" because just because you throw a bunch of Mexican looking ingredients into a bowl doesn't make it Mexican food. I was severely disappointed and the search for decent Mexican food in Da Nang goes on.

If you are the type of person that is inventive and knows how to make these sorts of dishes I really feel as though you could move to Da Nang and print your own money because everyone that lives here already knows that all of the Mexican food that is available in this city is just terrible.

I have intentionally not named this establishment because hopefully they can realize that they are doing it wrong and correct it before word gets around that they are just another failed attempt at recreating Mexican food in this town. At the moment, I can make better Mexican food than any of the restaurants in town by simply getting some beef and Old El Paso seasoning packets at my home. This is not the way it should be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61178.84
ETH 2749.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45