I quit smoking 2 years ago

in #life7 years ago

IMG_1002.JPG

I was in London. It was the last day of my stay and this wild thought struck me: why not try to get hold on one of those electronic cigarettes? Since I live nearby the North Pole, such devices are hard to find and as a total novice a little help to get started would be brilliant.

So I aired the question to my friend, Rich. As the helpful guy he is, he looked up the nearest shop in the neighborhood and it turned out to be near the railway. Good. We were going there anyway.

I'm no novice in the use of devices, but electricity has been and still is almost magic to me. Not that it is hard to understand but who thinks about resistance in their daily life? Who thinks about discharge rate for a battery? Probably no one. Except for the usual nerds. Since I'm not that much of a nerd, the choice to go to this shop was brilliant.

The guy in the shop looked at me and said "how much do you smoke?"

"100-150 grams of rolling tobacco" I answered.

The guy thought for a second and said "that's a lot. I recommend you try 24 mg nicotine"

He went on and found some liquid in his cabinet. A test device would be my first hit of smokeless nicotine.

I inhaled from the divice and could immediately feel the nicotine. It was a taste supposed to be a tobacco variety. Not convincing, too sweet but not as sweet as I had feared.

We went on to my options in gear. He quickly found a set with premade coils and a pen style battery. A sensible starter kit. I learned later that I should have bought two, since one always need to have a backup. One to charge and one to use. And if one breaks, you definitely want to have a spare device.

IMG_0910.JPG

I got home from my London trip and tried to remember all the guy had told me. I had however bought a kilo of tobacco in the tax free, so there was no rush. But I was eager to get up to speed with my new toy and quickly learned that I really did not need tobacco. This shit did the trick effectively. So I ended up reducing my tobacco use to a few fags a day. I think it took me a full year to get through the tax free box.

I spent that summer expanding my gear to also include rebuildable devices and stronger battery packs. To learn what you like is a harder effort than staying off the analogs is my experience.

And slowly I have reduced my nicotine strength down to two milligrams. I can sleep without waking up in the middle of the night to get nicotine. I never thought that would be possible! But it is!

I can't remember last time I had a fag now. It is strange. And naturally both smell and taste is much better than it used to be.

I might follow up on this topic since the politics of tobacco is similar to the politics I fear for crypto currencies. Ecigarettes was totally unregulated and I fear the regulating eagerness can be similar when it comes to crypto.

Badge -snakkeboble Warnock .png

Sort:  

Awesome! Now go another two years.. and another two years... and another two years... and ano-

Well Done
I quit smoking for 5 years ( between 2002 and 2007)
I do not think I can quit smoking again

I have voted for you can you vote my comment please ..
Thank you dear in advance .

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.00 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 21 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Awesome well done
I quit 9 months ago and vaping is what finally helped me to quit

I'm by no means a big smoker myself as I smoke mainly while drinking alchohol and I don't think I smoke more than 2 or 2.5 packs of cigarettes a month, 3 if I do a lot of going out which seems to happen really rarely these days.

But I do enjoy the ecigs, too and I even tried a 0mg liquid which just comes to satisfy the compulsions for taking drags out of something in between sips of beer. What I like the most about the ecigs is the taste and the fact that you are not a big annoyance to the non-smokers around you.

I need to fix my ecigs as they are in need of new vaporizers and have been out of order for quite some time now. The thing is that I'm quite the sporadic smoker, and when I have an ecig at hand at all times, I tend to overdo it, so it's not such a bad thing to not have one.

But good for you, it's great that you have done away with your bad habit and that your need for nicotine is decreasing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39