You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Prisons Should be Designed to Rehabilitate not Punish.

in #life7 years ago

I think you would be very interested to read about the Norwegian prison Bastoy. It's situated on an island and has strikingly different conditions from what we imagine as prison; no cells, a natural environment, and various educational, craft, and leisure pursuits for the prisoners.

Most interestingly, it typically serves as a transitional prison, where people who have spent longer sentences at traditional maximum security prisons are sent for the last several years of a sentence. I think this is such a crucial thing that the American system is missing. Rather than the sudden jarring transitions of life to miserable subjugation and back, the qualities of imprisonment should gradually shift in a way that has prisoners functioning as healthy human beings with skills and prospectsbefore being released into society.

Sort:  

I think I heard briefly about it but couldn't remember the name of the place!! Thank you SO much. I have wanted to reference this idea when talking about this in the past but for the life of me could not recall the facts. I will now go learn more about it! :D

This is exactly the type of thing we need.

No problem! It was eye opening when I first heard about it, and if I wasn't already just clued in to the destructive and greedy nature of the prison industrial complex in the US, I'd wonder why we haven't implemented anything similar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60795.60
ETH 2627.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58