You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why So Many People Are Like Eggs Today

in #life6 years ago

I think you have touched upon a phenomena that I have thought a lot about and that is how social media causes people to create these false or idealized online images of themselves. What really concerns me is that children are doing it younger and younger and that by creating these personas we lock ourselves into certain ways of being or identities. For example it used to be that whatever you were in high school, a goth or a stoner or jock or whatever that you could go to college and then create a whole new identity and then even do so again after you left college. That is all part of development. But now kids start developing these social media personas younger and younger and immerse themselves in a world and create a record that follows them where they are defined as whatever they were, locked into whatever choices they made when they were 13. I don't know what to do about this but it makes me feel bad that technology is causing people to be developmentally stalled.

Sort:  

Oh man, I can't agree more with you. Perfectly said! And this is something that worries me too. As more and more younger people are getting access to the internet, this problem is getting that much worse. I think it comes down to parents to handle this kind of behavior and I see a total absence of that.

More and more I see a family out to dinner with each member of the family on their own device and none of them talking to each other, those parents are not aware of their kids and they don't care.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 59288.97
ETH 3114.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39