The unfolding story of how I became a professional artist (week 25)

in #life7 years ago

img10172016_612.jpg
Hello and welcome to another week of paintings. I've kept some of that spark of integrating the real with the imagined for the first painting. I loved the way her lying pose looked so peaceful and I thought it would be cool to play off of that with an opposite like the venus fly trappy thing that she's lying on. I've also begun to want more and more to draw from my imagination more often because I feel like it's been easy for me to only draw when I'm looking at something real and I' don't want to get stuck in that blank page trap.
img10172016_613.jpg
This was a call back to the super blendy images I did a couple weeks ago. I'd like to practice more soft and hard edges in my work and I'm still going to try and execute that in the subtle areas where I think they belong.
img10172016_615.jpg
img10172016_616.jpg
One of the fun things about doing life drawing is that you are forced to finish a painting in the amount of time given so there's no room to be slow or hesitant for the painting. In a way it almost forces that part of your brain that is indecisive to take a back seat so that you can get the piece done for better or worse.
img10172016_614.jpg
I thought this last one had some grip. The way she's looking at you leaves a lot to think about, it also might be because it's kind of the thinking man pose. I was trying again to get those blues to softly blend to pink in areas that I felt shouldn't have a hard edge and letting the pink hit a sharp edge where the light began. I'll continue to work it's super challenging in the best way. Thanks for checking in, have a good week.

Sort:  

Awesome journal!

Upvoted

@shayne

@shayne The journal is kind of an incentive in it's own way to not stop, haha. Thanks for the upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59585.77
ETH 3002.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78