The unfolding story of how I became a professional artist (week 20)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

What a beautiful week! I got to live in such a wonderful way with my little compact water color kit and enjoying the outdoors with my girlfriend and pup. The first image here was in Davenport on a sunny day. We walked around the tide pools looking for creatures and I was able to spend a few moments capturing the awesome rock jutting out in the bay.

Davenport Beach

We had a nice stop here by a riverside where I was able to pull out my watercolor pad and take a couple of sketches.

Girlfriend wading in the river

The figure drawings came out nicely this week. I really love the lying pose with the blue-y purples of the shadows and the warm oranges in the light. It's really cool how much you can do with just the temperature of a color and how our eyes just accept that shadows would be cooler. I was looking at some old master paintings recently that did just that and sometimes even more simplified and bold. It's fun to experiment.

These last three are from me sitting on my porch with a coffee just sketching what I see. It's a great morning habit that I really enjoy when I make the time for it.


Trees across the street with a "slow children at play"sign

Moody foggy forest

My pup sunbathing

I hope you've enjoyed these, I've been having a lot of fun painting and sharing with everyone on Steemit. See you next week!

Sort:  

Enjoying these a great deal! Your color palette and compositions are beautiful. Wonderful work, thanks so much for sharing :D

@voronoi I really appreciate the compliments! I've also been having a great time painting so I'm glad to share. I'm happy you enjoyed them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97