I'm at Taco Bell now 🌮 🔔

in #life6 years ago (edited)

My errand is complete (sort of), and I'm eating lunch.

Two bean and cheese burritos, hold the cheese, add potatoes, grilled.

(And they also have red sauce and onion on them.)

Taco Bell has taken the effort to have all of their beans and rice certified as vegan. I appreciate them for it. (I don't really care about the certification aspect. I'd believe them. But I like that it's clear what the ingredients are.)

So most of their items can become vegan if you hold the cheese and swap the meat for beans.

When I order a drink, rather than ask for a size, I always say "whatever the cheapest one is".

There's "small", there's "value".. it's a lot to keep track of. But moreover, at Taco Bell they often have "happy hour" where a medium drink costs $1.

I can't pay attention to when exactly happy hour is, so I just ask for the cheapest one and see what happens. Once or twice they've smiled and just handed me a cup (for free). So it's just a really good way to order the drink.

On the bus ride over here this guy annoyed me:

He was outside smoking a cigarette up until seconds before leaving.

And then he sat near me in the back, still holding his cigarette for some reason.

The smell wasn't quite enough to earn a demerit, but it was bad form to be carrying it.

And then he opened the window.

This is what he looks like on the bus:

It was too cold for the window to be open. I gave him a kind of appalled look and thought about moving, but first I was curious what he was up to-- he was opening a little handbag and clearly had some kind of plan.

He was drawing looks from most of the people on the bus, just the way he methodically opened the window and engaged with his bag.

Finally he took out some sort of lotion and started putting it on his face or hair or whatever.

I don't know. He closed the window after a few minutes, but it was still bad. It could have caused me to move seats, and it was cold while it was happening.

If you really need to open the window when it's too cold for the window, you ask the people around you if they mind. Or let them know it will just be a moment. Whatever you were doing with your face wasn't so important that it should override that.

So the cigarette was tolerable but he gets a demerit for the window.

Sort:  

I just love your bus stories haha! Don't ever stop posting em. Also you should start rating the people. We might not have our decentralized peer review thingy system out yet but we can pretend! Allow me to start. I hereby in all leniency give this guy a 4/10.

So glad you're liking the bus stories 😂😂 I def won't stop.. can't promise the characters will stay this good

Ya!!! Great idea great idea great idea

Btw I'm reading your replies in reverse order 😯 so I already saw you rate the lady a 2.. now I see the context hehe

Again, fair score. I like it. I'm gonna give him a 3.2

Btw I'm reading your replies in reverse order 😯

Haha I had to catch up and decided to just take em one after the other. I barely check my feed anymore and I don't have notification set so I tend to fall behind a lot 🙄

can't promise the characters will stay this good

They really have been though havent they? Fingers crossed that they remain that way. Lol.
I think 3.2 is pretty fair.

Ahah ya dood .. I dip in and out sometimes

I used to get notifications but they just stopped, like I never changed anything I just stopped getting them, lol I dunno.. it's good tho, I think I like no notifications

Tough day hun

I can't pay attention to when exactly happy hour is, so I just ask for the cheapest one and see what happens. Once or twice they've smiled and just handed me a cup (for free). So it's just a really good way to order the drink.

Sounds like a fun way to game the system. This way you always get the best (cheapest) offer.

Hahaha

So the cigarette was tolerable but he gets a demerit for the window.

Dunno about you but I would have really taken it personal with the cigarette. That stuff isn't good for me. About the cold, I think I would have searched for another seat.

Wait! You didn't tell him you were uncomfortable. Why?

Tough day hun

Baha

Sounds like a fun way to game the system. This way you always get the best (cheapest) offer.
Hahaha

Ya haha, it makes it impossible to ever make a mistake, at least to the extent that the employee correctly knows the prices and doesn't screw you. So it's just a lazy way to not have to read thru the menu and be aware of the promotions and stuff.

Dunno about you but I would have taken it personal with the cigarette.

Oh I'm right there with you. When I saw the cigarette and him coming near me, I was ready to be outraged. But then all I got was a feint little hint, either from the cigarette or from him. (Cigarette wasn't lit anymore, he was just carrying it.)

In general I can't stand cigarettes and the way some people smoke them too close to people etc

Wait! You didn't tell him you were uncomfortable. Why?

Haha, I'm not sure. It all happens fast, like "..he's opening the window?" and then suddenly I wonder what he's doing with his handbag.

Telling him I'm cold was an option. First I was just observing it all. It wasn't like "ouch, frostbite" type of cold, just a hard autumn day where no one would reasonably decide a window should be open.

Something about him was weird. I guess a part of it is like if he's weird enough to open the window, I don't really need to talk to him, I'd probably have just moved seats if he didn't close it soon, and talked to him if it would still be cold in the other seats.

(like if it's the kind of thing that they should just know is anti-social and by default what other people probably don't want, I like just ignoring if possible)

Sounds like you've had a rough morning haha. Can't say I've had Taco Bell in forever. More rare up in Canada and now being in Europe none existent but damn do I miss those mexi fries they used to make.

Lulll ya it was a pretty eventful morning.. I made it thru and am home safe now :p

Hmmmm ya you probably have real food in Europe :p They take too much pride in their food to have too many Taco Bells floating around hehe

But ya, it can be comforting and yummy

Yeah the Europeans sure do it right in that sense... you still see the McDonalds and KFC's floating around though. You end up finding a lot of mom and pop shops that are absolute gems though!

Ya I've heard that! Random little shops you can pop into and everything is fresh and awesome. So sick.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55