Realizing you have no talent

in #life7 years ago (edited)

loser.jpg

I think everyone wishes that they were good at something. It doesn't have to be extravagant or complicated, it doesn't have to garner them international recognition or applause, it just has to give them a sense of uniqueness and self-worth. Sadly, there are some of us out there like me, that have nothing. No discerning characteristics or positive qualities, no hidden talents that one day may be unearthed.

last.png

My entire life I have always had to settle for last. Some people may get angry with losing, but for me, overtime it just became second nature. I would practice my heart out, just to end up doing worse then when I first started. Simple tasks that most anyone could accomplish, would be too much for me. And even when I would try my hardest, I would still fail miserably. Everything I do takes about ten times longer than the average person, though I know its not healthy to compare, in retrospect, isn't that what life is all about?

ry.jpg

So with this being said, what is the point of sticking around when you are intellectually inferior to everyone around you? Should you submit to the hand you were dealt, even though there is no chance for a re-deal ? Should you be happy with who you are, even though that would mean you would be destine to a life of sweeping floors? I think the worst part is when you first come to the realization that you are stupid. Before this point, you may have thought that you were smarter than you truly are and in essence this thought process only held you back. But at least now I can readily admit it, I am stupid, I am a loser, I am slow - but that is just who I am.

Sort:  

Eh, just by being able to recoginze that you are already ahead of most of us really...

But sometimes you do not need to be smart, you just need to be confident. Sadly I do not poses either of these traits. Thanks for the response!!

Everyone can't be winners... its pretty fun at the top.

Enjoy the view .

No matter how good you are at anything, there is always an asian that can surpass you.

Intelligence is a very complex term. Logic intelligence is the base of reason and maths, communication intelligence is the ability to express opinions and feelings, emotional intelligence is the ability to understand the feelings of other people, and so on.

I think we must admit our limitations and be happy as we are, but also trying to improve ourselves slowly and focusing, either at imporving some of our best abilites, or at fixing our worst flaws, but not everything at the same time.

It sure is complex. Having a bachelor degree in accounting and a Masters in finance, my faith in the post secondary education system is even less now than it was when I first graduated. No longer is conventional education appreciated or rewarded. Now the only people who seem to make it are the lucky, the brilliant and the people who just happen to be at the right place at the right time. IE everyone who decided to buy into Crypto currencies in December of 2016 lol. Sadly I may just have to go back to doing peoples taxes, because this blog thing just isn't for me.

Yes I also think that study and hard work is not enough to get success anymore. Currently the only ways to leave mediocrity are:

  1. Create an startup and sell it to a big company
  2. Suck dicks to get close to the elite
  3. Win the lottery or have luck in high risk investments

Personally I am not ambitious. I think I can be happy just with a job that does not suck very much and let me live a bit above from poverty, a boyfriend and few friends. But I really do not know, maybe when I achieve that I discover that I need more.

I enjoy your posts, will miss you if you finally leave Steemit, but it is true this is not for everybody.

Well there are also those people who have natural tallent. Nothing like winning the genetic lottery. It is great you have modest desires however for me I'm extrinsically motivated. After having nice cars and a nice house that's all I can think about. No offense but I'd rather take a nice Porsche 911 over a woman any day. Plus the Porsche won't get tired of you and run away with your best friend because you cannot put on a good enough to show for them anymore. Sometimes relationships are just tiring but it is what it is and you want what you want thanks for the response

Yes, natural talents are also nice.

One of my favourite phrases is: Money might not bring happiness, but it is better to cry inside a Porsche.

Relationships are tiring and dangerous as they cant bring too much hurt in case they fail. But it seems like I am condemned to fall in love again and again, so I think I need it for not getting insane eventually.

Nice cars bring me happiness. Lol. I rather cry in the arms of a leather wrapped car seat than the arms of a person whos intentions I truely do not know and whos love for me can fade at a drop of a hat. Don't let your relationships define you. Don't subscribe to the thought process that you need a significant other to feel worthy and special. Because even if you are single, even if you are alone, you are still important.

Yes, nobody can really be trusted no matter how much he/she apreciated in the past.

Since I had 15 I keep falling in love over and over although it is not my intention, and every time the other guy did not feel the same way. I know love is not everything, but it is very difficult for me to forget it and try to be happy with everything else. Some friends said that is why I am not confident myself, maybe they are right. Or maybe I just need one succesful relationship to be confident myself, I really dont know

Are you still fairly young? Growing up may have a lot to do with it. But even then, confidence comes from within. I have met some pretty sketchy people in my life that dont have much going on, but they could still charm the pants off the queen because they have so much faith in themselves . Its not your fault for guys having a different idea than you did. Most guys just want to have sex and move on. My one friend , the person who I just mentioned above, I actually had to explain to him why It was a bad thing that he was cheating on his wife that just had his son. He thought that I was sick in the head because I thought cheating was wrong. According to him everyone cheats so whats the big deal. And he sadly enough, is the typical male.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64333.84
ETH 2760.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65