You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I am not Okay

in #life5 years ago

What I'm about to say may make me sound cold or emotionless, but I assure you that is not at all the case. I've had my heart broken, and been in a very similar position to where you are now. In a way, I still am, in that I deal with depression and thoughts of suicide... it's just that now it's more of a general feeling of hopelessness and anger towards a world I see as broken in a way that could be fixed if humans weren't the way we are. But I digress.

What I really wanted to say is that emotions are just chemical reactions in our brain. That isn't meant to diminish their actual impact, because our entire life experience could be thought of in the same way... even physical pain is just "in our head", but that makes it no less real. However, for me at least, thinking of it that way does take away some of the power of the emotions, if that makes sense. Like, if I can get over the terrible drinking problem I used to have, I can get over this addiction too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58092.92
ETH 2616.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43