strange behavior

in #life7 years ago

I recently came across a lady at a store parking lot who was so eager to greet and start a conversation.
I naturally have a friendly personality which made the lady feel comfortable to start her conversation. On this particular day I was not rushing anywhere so I didn't mind her attempt to have a conversation. The funny thing about this strange meeting is the fact that I have never met the lady before. The story began with her international trips which were kind of nice to hear because I do a lot of international travel as well, but for some reason I found myself listening to her family and marital problems, the soliloquy went on for a couple minutes and I was ready to excuse myself of which I did very respectfully. My fellow steemians is it normal behavior to discuss family issues with strangers?

Sort:  

Sometimes it is easier to tell things to a stranger, than to someone we know. I have had many encounters like that. People talk to me and I am always curious to hear their story. One reason I love this network is, that there is so much to explore. Wish the day had 100 hours... everybody seems to be longing for steem. Pfffft.... I need more time!!

Our perception is based on comparison. When we have a conversation, everything said is instantly... sort of analyzed and weighted against everything we know about someone or the situation. So, in long lasting relationships either one can quite well predict the other ones reaction to anything one says or does.

A stranger does not have this "history" with you and you get a fresh start. You can tell your story and its like filling an empty glass.. when all the other glasses around you are full... or even worse, they are all broken.

Very well said, thank you for giving this perspective :)

Definitely your trip is very fun, I also have experienced things like you, which sometimes beyond our thinking they want to open with us who have not been too long acquainted.
Sometimes it always keeps thinking about where we are going.

Hahaha yes @paranuansa it was funny and awkward at the same time.

Strange Behavior ^^
1 of the girl's mom's so funny lmao i was trying so hard not to laugh at their convo but i lost it when she started talking about 101 LOL
I was sitting in front of all the 17's stuffs so 1 of the girls came all the way to me, like super close, to see the stuffs + pristin's

Good job on this! Now you have a new skill to develop and share with steemit!

@fshllc

I would not consider it abnormal. Sometimes people just need to vent and they rather not talk to someone they know. You gave her a helpful ear and that was kind of you. People often start talking to me about personal issues, as strangers. As long as it does not get too personal, perhaps it is more helpful to the person than the listener can imagine.

@nedspeaks, I agree, it might even be safer for her to share with a stranger that way the story doesn't get back to the family.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fshllc from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I'm not sure if I would classify it as normal, perhaps this person was afraid to talk to those she knew and she/he needed to vent. I certainly hope it wasn't anything darker. Resteemed!

@michellereneekid, I am sure given what she disclosed, she wouldn't feel comfortable sharing with her friends, it wasn't dark per say but it was tragic enough to keep me awake wondering how to help. I prayed for her and still do when I remember her. Thank you for resteeming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55