Our Little Slice of Heaven...

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Here is a little tour, for lack of a better word, of our little slice of heaven.... This is our hometown of Newburg, New Brunswick, Canada.... at least our little portion of it.

We will start with my backyard... In our backyard you will find chickens, cows, fish, frogs and so much more. :D This handsome fellow is Ferdinand our Jersey bull. We call him Ferdy for short. :D He loves to play and run and hop along in the field to show off for our girls Candy, Princess and Belle. :D
20170629_132605.jpg
We have a Jersey steer as well and his name is Bobby. :D He's a sweet boy. Both Ferdy and Bobby will go for walks for you if you ask them to and even sometimes when you don't ask as well. :D Bobby is following me back to the side pasture. Isn't he a handsome chap? :D
20170629_133230.jpg
Bobby is our little escape artist. He's supposed to be with the girls but he finds different ways to wander about the property...sometimes we are lucky enough to figure out how he's done it and repair whatever got broke to stop him from doing it again...at least in that spot, but he always finds a new one. I guess he just likes to have the freedom to go walk-about as the Aussie's say. :D

Now our girls pretty much stick together. Belle (the Holstein (black and white) is like the matriarch, which is kind of odd since she's not the eldest of the girls), Candy (the Jersey (light brown) one is sort of a co-mom with Belle to our baby Princess (she's the black one). Princess is a sweetie but has her moments of pure stubbornness. :D Here are Belle and Princess in the side pasture...Candy is in the same area but too far to fit in the picture so I'll include her picture separate. :D
20170629_132819.jpg
Here is our lovely Candy. :D
20170629_132843.jpg
Hmmm let me see if I have a better picture of her that isn't blurry....this should be better...I hope. :D
20170629_132429.jpg

Well those are some pictures of our little herd of cattle and here's a picture of some of our chickens and our barn (built out of an old big rig trailer,) which works really good. :D (We hope to get another one someday and make the barn bigger.)
20170629_133002.jpg
Here is our pond that is full of many generations of goldfish and frogs and other life forms. :D
20170629_133036.jpg
Sorry, I did try to crop the photos but I couldn't get it to work without losing too much of the photo for some reason today...technology loves me so much...NOT. :D LOL. :D

This will be my entry into the "Introduce Your Hometown" contest that @pollux.one is hosting (#introduceyourhometown).

I hope everyone likes it. :D What do you think?

Sort:  

Congratulations @frostyamber! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank You so much for sharing that little slice of heaven with us :D

You're welcome. I'm so glad you like it. :D

Great hometown post! I love all of your animals!

Thank you very much. We love them too! :D

Great, you are in. ( You should have used the #introduceyourhometown additionally to life homestead and thoughts ... would have been easier to find for others. Probably you can still edit this ) Upvoted!

Sorry, I thought I was supposed to put that in the post itself, which is what I did. I didn't realize it was supposed to be in the tag spot. I'm not of the hashtag generation and never sure where its supposed to go. I will try to edit and see if it lets me do it now though. :D

Hmmm it let me put the #introduceyourhometown in the tags but took the # out...was it supposed to do that or did I do it wrong? Let me know if it shows or I have to do something else please. Me and technology have a love/hate relationship so I never know if its going to do what I ask it to do. :D

it works nicely... probably it also would have worked with spacing out the () before and after your use in the text.

In any case you are in the challenge, this detail is only to make it easier for others to find your post.

Awesome, thanks so much. :D (Especially for the patience in helping me get into the contest. :D )

That's what a community is there for...
Glad you are in!

Just saying hi to Ferdy, Bobby, Belle, Princess and Candy!

Btw i am trying to find this place on google maps, but i can't. Is it spelled Newburg or is there any letter missing? :D

That is so nice of you. I know they say hi back. :D

It should be there and spelled just like you have it there...Newburg. Where are you looking for it from? I don't know why its not showing for you.... Its a beautiful little area, all year round. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59647.03
ETH 2622.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44