Daily Thoughts - 1 Sep 17 - Homesteading Today...

in #life7 years ago

I woke up this morning and this is the first thing I saw...one of our puppy dogs asleep on my bed beside me, but that's not all...
20170901_084849.jpgMya guarding the sock she stole from her grandpa's side of the room (off the floor where he likes to leave them). She loves to grab someone's sock, clean or dirty, she's not picky, and carry them around the house. Its quite funny, if you are ever missing a sock just let her go look for it and before you know it she'll be walking in front of you with that sock. :D
20170817_141729.jpg
I got up, got dressed in my chore clothes and started to head outside to do the chores but had to go back into the house for a jacket...it was quite brisk here today, we even got a bit of rain and I think we'll get more later.

This is the sight that greeted me as I went out the backdoor to do the chores...Ferdinand (left), Princess (center, eating at the feeder) and Belle (right)...Ferdinand and Belle watched me like a hawk this morning but Princess was too busy having breakfast to pay any attention to me at all. :D
20170901_092136.jpg
Belle and Candy came by to say hello while I was filling their water trough and then wandered over to their salt lick. :D
20170831_094106.jpg
Ferdinand came to say before I headed back inside with the eggs. :D
20170831_093045.jpg
Its been raining on and off most of the afternoon but the animals don't seem to mind...the chickens and the cattle played outside all day and the puppy dogs would have if we'd let them...but they would have been soaked and wet dog smell isn't very pleasant and its even worse when you multiply it by six puppy dogs. :D

That's how our day went here on the homestead. :D How was yours? I hope you all had/have an awesome day! :D

Sort:  

sounds like the perfect day to me! 😀 I have 5 puppy dogs myself, but unfortunately no farm for more animals. maybe one day! Today I have been walking in the woods with mh dogs, picking blackberries with my son and baking a fruit crumble with our pickings! A great day! 😊

I think so too, nothing better than puppy dogs. :D What type of dogs do you have?

That sounds wonderful, I love a nice fresh from the oven pie, apple is my favorite, especially with a little ice cream on the side. :D Take a picture of the finished pie and post it here if you like...I'd love to see it. :D

Have an awesome day! :D

I'm afraid the pie didn't last long enough to take a picture lol I'll take one next time, which won't be long i'm sure, with berry season upon us!
I have 3 english bulldogs, 1 german shepherd and a cocker spaniel. I am the crazy dog lady lol

LOL. That just means it was wonderful pie. :D I'm sure the next pie will be just as lovely and wonderful tasting so you'll have to have the camera on hand before it cools. :D

We've got a collie, a husky, and four of their pups...at one time though we had 14 dogs here, the pups other six siblings and two of their uncles. :D I miss them some days and other days I'd gladly give up a couple of the ones we've still got...those are usually the days they've scratched me or ran into me like freight trains as I walked around the house. :D I am definitely a crazy dog lady too. :D LOL. :D

haha we need more crazy dog ladies in the world 😂😂

That is soooo true. :D :D

Hey thank you for sharing this with us. Well my day wasn't as adventurous and fun as yours. I had to work overtime but what has to be done has to be done. Thank you once again.:) @kingbach

You're welcome. I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Thank you and have an awesome day! :D

It's always a nice feeling to wake up next to a furry loved one.

Usually I'm shoved right up to the edge of the bed because of that particular furry loved one. :D She is the biggest bed hog I've got. :D Some days she stretches as far as she can and hogs over half of the bed. :D I love her though so I put up with it. :D

Hi @frostyamber :)
Thank you for sharing this post!
Cows, and puppys! Whats not to like??
I hope you're having a good day, and that your weekend is awesome!

Thank you so much. :D I totally agree, cows and puppy dogs are the best. Now when it comes to "What's not to like?" I can answer that in two words...male goats...they are mean and always urinating on themselves...yuck. LOL. :D (Just a heads up in case you ever get some land and decide to get a few more animals. :D The female goats are great but they are all escape artists so be careful, they will dance on your vehicles when they escape their enclosures, and they will escape. :D)

I'm having a great weekend so far, hubby got home from work early today and is now off until Tuesday, yahoo! :D LOL. :D

I hope you have an awesome weekend as well. :D

I will keep that noted! Haha i do plan on having land. And goats are in the plan. So that is good info! ;) thank you for sharing that, and in such an awesome reply!

Ps. My weekend is going very well thanks!

I'm glad to help, if you have any questions on fencing, pasture, feed, etc... do's and don'ts when it comes to chickens, goats, pigs or cows, feel free to ask. We learned a lot of our lessons the hard way.

I don't know a lot but I do know some things and I like to share the knowledge. :D I'm so glad your weekend is going well. :D Have an awesome rest of your day! :D

Thanks! :)
I will keep that in mind i imagine i will have a few questions haha

You're welcome. :D I look forward to them. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60637.64
ETH 2405.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60