A Downshifter’s learning #1: Time is precious. This life is finite. Our time is the only thing that we cannot get back. Once we spent it - it is gone. (EN) + (DE)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

English (scroll down for German version)

It all started out in summer 2015 - I felt somehow sad and empty - and it got worse from week to week. I felt like something in my life was going completely wrong. But I couldn’t figure out what was so depressing.
I had everything. On the outer view everything was perfectly fine. I could do some checks on my personal life list:

  • finished studies
  • interesting and good job
  • happily married
  • two healthy kids

What was so wrong with that?
And then the July came along and it struck right from heart to my brain: here it was, the reason why. The reason why I felt I was only functioning and not living. The reason why I seemed to watch my life from the outside - not actively living it:


It was my daughter’s 10 th birthday - my personal cesura. At the end of that happy birthday I lay down in my bed with wave of bitterness running through my body. Terribly sorry. My heart was breaking because I realized something I did not check out running in the rat race all the years before: time is so precious.

This life is finite. Our time is the only thing that we cannot get back. Once we spent it - it is gone.

And I had spent the last ten years with other priorities. I realized I could never get these moments back I already missed in my daugther’s childhood. But how could that happen?

Because there always was this huge pressure on my shoulders to fulfil expectations:

  • I got my baby daughter at the end of my studies. The pressure made me go back working on my thesis when she was four months old. I was so afraid of ending up without a degree or any job perspectives - completely financially dependent on my husband to be.
  • Then I started my career. The pressure made me working hard and extra hours when my girl was a baby, a toddler and a small child. I was so afraid of ending up without an own and successful career - and being again financially dependent on my husband AND being a bad role model for my daughter of what a modern, feminist woman and mother should be.

But in July 2015, I lay in that bed and remembered so many moments that made me cry - moments when I was not the person I always wanted to be:

  • All the mornings with pushing my daughter to hurry up - because mummy must be in the office for a meeting, a call or whatever it was.
  • Evenings when my daughter always was one of the last children - all the years long: at the childminder, the kindergarden or the after school center.
  • Or at work when I had to do things I did not want to (but which were important for that career path) or when propositions of me were not heard - was that worth it?

This summer 2015, I ended up realizing the following things:

  • we only have 18 summers with our child - more than half of these summers with my daughter were already gone
  • I wanted to start actively living my life instead of only functioning through my life and watching it going by like a spectator
  • I wanted to enjoy the rest of the summers (and years) I have with my kids

But I knew this was going to be a hard path to take - because I was always raised to choose the secure way and to avoid risks. Questioning my whole life (and education and values and aims) seemed to be the ultimate struggle to me. So I started to sort out myself. As I am a person with a very high safety need - this process took quite some steps and efforts. 

My learning #1: 

Time is precious. This life is finite. Our time is the only thing that we cannot get back. Once we spent it - it is gone. 

Deutsch (scroll up for English version)

Es begann alles im Sommer 2015 - ich fühlte mich irgendwie traurig und leer. Und es wurde schlimmer von Woche zu Woche. Es fühlte sich an, als ob etwas in meinem Leben total schief läuft. Aber ich konnte mir nicht so recht erklären, was mich so fertig machte. Von der Außensicht auf mein Leben hatte ich eigentlich alles, was es so brauchte und konnte viele Häkchen an meiner Liste mit Lebenszielen machen:

- Studium abgeschlossen
- glücklich verheiratet
- spannender, abwechslungsreicher Job
- zwei gesunde Kinder

Was war daran so komisch?
Und dann war Juli und es fiel mir wie Schuppen von den Augen: Der Grund war dieses Gefühl, dass ich nur noch funktionierte und mein Leben nicht mehr aktiv lebte. Es war eher so, als ob ich eine Art Zuschauer in meinem eigenen Lebensfilm war.

Es war der 10. Geburtstag meiner Tochter - meine ganz persönliche Zäsur. Am Ende dieses Tages lag ich erfasst von einer Woge Bitterkeit in meinem Bett. Ich bedauerte so plötzlich viel. Ich realisierte, dass ich all die Jahre im Hamsterrad eine Sache übersehen hatte: Zeit ist so kostbar.

Dieses Leben ist endlich.Unsere Zeit ist die einzige Sache, die wir nicht zurückbekommen können. Jeder Augenblick, der gelebt wurde, ist vorbei.

Und ich hatte die letzten 10 Jahre mit anderen Prioritäten verbracht. Mir wurde klar, dass ich all diese Momente nicht mehr zurückkriegen kann, die ich schon im Leben meiner Tochter verpasst hatte.

Aber wie konnte das nur passieren?
Ganz einfach, weil da immer dieser Druck von Erwartungen auf meinen Schultern lastete - und ich ihn nie hinterfragt hatte:
- Erst so schnell wie möglich mit Baby mein Studium abzuschließen, um ja nicht ohne Abschluss und Job - in Abhängigkeit von meinem Mann - zu enden.
- Und dann all die Überstunden, als mein Mädchen Baby, Kleinkind und Kind war, um eine eigene, erfolgreiche (vorzeigbare) Karriere zu haben - und wiederum ja nicht abhängig zu sein. Und natürlich ein Vorbild für meine Tochter, was eine moderne, feministische Frau von heute sein sollte.

Aber im Sommer 2015 fiel mir endlich auf:
- wir haben nur 18 Sommer mit unseren Kids - und mehr als die Hälfte mit meinem Mädchen waren um
- ich wollte mein Leben aktiver leber und gestalten - und irgendwie weniger “gelebt” werden
- ich wollte die nächsten Sommer (und Frühling, Herbst, Winter) mehr mit meinen Kids genießen

Gleichzeitig wusste ich auch, dass das für mich ein schwerer Weg wird. Denn ich war immer sehr Risiko-vermeidend erzogen worden. Mein ganze Leben (und Erziehung und Werte und Ziele) zu hinterfragen, war die ultimative Herausforderung für mich.

Also begann ich mich ab diesem Zeitpunkt zu sortieren, viel zu lesen und zu überlegen, wie ich es möglich machen kann.

Startpunkt war also: Unsere Zeit ist kostbar. Zeit ist das einzige, was wir nicht wiederkriegen können, wenn wir sie einmal “ausgegeben” haben.

Sort:  

Hello and welcome to steemit.
I joined in July but only started posting last month.

One thing I have found is that it is difficult to get followers and therefore have your posts seen and upvoted. If I may reccommend something to you it's steemfollower. basically it's just a much smaller subcommunity where you can find followers and we all upvote within that community.

It doesn't cost anything and participating on steemfollower has no impact on your profile here except in the normal manner of upvoting.

Feel free to check it out via my referral.

https://steemfollower.com/?r=1716

(All steemfollowers receive a bonus for referrals).

Good luck in your steem voyage!

Already in it :D - but thanks for sharing - this is interesting for other steemians.

Wir versuchen das hashtag #deutsch für deutschsprachige Inhalte zu reservieren.
Könntest Du Deinen Artikel bitte besser kategorisieren ? Danke.

Danke für den Hinweis. Ich hatte nur die erste Seite reinkopiert. Edit gemacht!

Hallo @frondaison !

Dies ist eine automatische Nachricht.

Anscheinend hast Du das erste Mal auf #deutsch geschrieben.
Willkommen bei Steemit !
Schau doch mal im https://steemit.chat/channel/deutsch vorbei !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64261.31
ETH 2787.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66