You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: World Adoption Day

in #life7 years ago

Thank you for your reply, I still cry when I tell people about Andries. It is amazing what joy a child can bring to a persons life. It was not an easy decision to make, especially where we lived at the time, in Thabazimbi, a very conservative Afrikaans community, I am also Afrikaans and my husband is Scottish (a good combination!) You think of how the people are going to accept us with a black child (Andries says he is not black, he is brown!) There was never one single bad remark from anybody, but support. People stared at us but I am still so proud to be his mother and especially when he talks to me in a shop and calls me mom. It is those times that I am so grateful that he has someone in his life that he can call mom or dad and talk about his brother and sisters.

Sort:  

This is so reassuring! We will be starting the adoption process again next year and will be expecting a "brown" baby, we can't wait! I am so glad that you had the support you needed and that you have raised what seems to be a very confident and pleasant young man!

I used to visit Thabazimbi often! My uncle used to live there and he is also Scottish, his name is Andrew Boyce, perhaps you know him?

His name sounds so familiar. I am sure my husband will know him. Was he working on the mine? I will ask him when he phones tonight. He is currently working in Zambia.
All of the best with the adoption process. My husband's advice was, "Just give the children food, they will grow up by themselves!" Wish it was that easy.

Ha ha! In a sense it is true, all you can do is be there and provide for your children and hope and pray that the world is good to them. Yes, he worked at a mine! He lived there for quite some time and has recently moved back to Scotland. My cousins names are Sarah and Andrew and they are around Andries's age too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58239.61
ETH 2287.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50