You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learning to love yourself | Lernen, sich selbst zu lieben ♥

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Guten Tag Jess. Sehr gut! Yes, love thy self, warts and all! To add to this, even the most beautiful bodies are also subject to sickness, old age and death. The problem comes in with attachment. In my opinion, it is fine to appreciate beauty, but being attached to beauty somehow is what causes problems. I'll leave you with two quotes, they seem to be a contradiction but I think there is a certain truth to both of them.

Here is my secret. It is very simple: It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. Antoine de Saint-Exupery

It is only shallow people who do not judge by appearances. The true mystery of the world is the visible, not the invisible.... Oscar Wilde

Sort:  

That's beautiful! The first one is from the little prince right? This is so true, thank you for contributing this to my post. <3

That's right. The Oscar Wilde is from The Picture of Dorian Gray. Thinking about it, I went and read that part, and it's what Lord Henry says to Dorian Gray. IMO it's what starts the corruption in him, so I take back what I said, if anything can ever be unsaid :) It seems rather it is a profound and alluring delusion.

Ah okay, that's why it sounded so familiar to me. I read the Picture of Dorian Gray some time ago. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44