Relationships and encounters - a litte story for the advent season (translation of my german post yesterday)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago (edited)


Once again, December had come - the time of darkness and cold, but was it also the proverbial "quiet time"? For me, right in the middle of life, the professional requirements had become the defining element. The relentless demands of the numerous responsibilities were, of course, opposed to the strengthening feeling of success, as I had never before experienced. It was difficult to keep the balance between profitability and humanity, especially in economically difficult times as a leader. The price that I had to pay for this commitment was not only in some sleepless and thought-heavy nights, but above all also in loosening relationships with friends and acquaintances.

December – weren’t we always together in a fun round for a cozy weekend on the rustic hut in East Tyrol? On arrival, the old stove had to be fired at first, and some smoky hours passed until a first glimmer of warmth spread in the romantic candle-lit kitchen. But wine, Fernet Branca, Uozo, or even a “Feuerzangenbowle” (mulled wine with a rum-soaked sugarloaf lit above it) immediately caused heat from the inside ...

Again and again, life requires us to let go of things we used to love. This fact is perfectly described in Hermann Hesse's poem "Stufen". A few years ago, the tenancy agreement was canceled. But the memory of the numerous experiences that these hut rides brought with them will remain to me, in part as clearly as if they had only happened yesterday:

There were the many victories over the dangerous summits, the conversations until late into the night, Anke's guitar performances, lavish multi-course festivals, hours on the terrace in the blazing sunshine ...

... romantic togetherness, but also dying love, a winterly climb through almost impenetrable snowmasses and even life-threatening situations: During a mountain tour, I had to secure a completely exhausted girlfriend with my hands at the summit ridge to prevent them from fall from heights.

And on a ride home, I had to go through those serious driving errors, which turned my car into scrap. As by a miracle, I and Anke, however, came out with the mere horror.

The children of my friends I could occasionally inspire with a few legerdemains with cards. And Jonas, the then 10-year-old, was even taken by me on a real mountain running - how proud he was when he had reached the “Tauernhaus” after almost two hours of running!

The basic motive for all this was for me to spend time with nature-minded people in nature. Human life is a long road that offers the opportunity to accumulate adventures and experiences with which the personality can develop and mature. When we attentively listen to the language of life, we recognize meaning and feel security and happiness.

On a late night drive home from work, my thoughts were still full on the topics of the past day. Suddenly my cell phone rang. Who now wanted something from me again-and at a later hour? A male voice, which seemed to me unknown, appeared.
"Here Jonas - do you want to be my godfather of catholic confirmation"? For a moment, I had to think about what Jonas? And what does " godfather of catholic confirmation" mean? It was only through the subsequent conversation that I realized slowly that this was Jonas, with whom I had made the running to the Tauernhaus many years ago. I could scarcely believe that he just wanted to make me his godfather of catholic confirmation. Had I made such a lasting impression on him with the few shared experiences and thus involuntarily established a personal bond?

Jonas' call still occupied me until late into the night and left the everyday routine problems in the background. I felt honored and challenged at the same time. Confirmation has something to do with faith and with ethical values. And my motive to take him to the mountain at that time was perhaps to convey to him the joy of nature and the fun of physical activity.

Although I am not a “church christian” (and therefore probably not a suitable godfather), I am sure that there is a superior plan for each individual who conducts and directs the ways of life mysteriously. I will definitely be part of Jonas Confirmation and I also intend to do some adventures with him next year.

Amendment: My time on the ut "Raneburg 2" in Matrei/Osttirol lasted from 1983 until 2002. The pics were takenmostly during this time.

"Steps" by Hermann Hesse:

As every blossom fades
and all youth sinks into old age,
so every life’s design, each flower of wisdom,
attains its prime and cannot last forever.
The heart must submit itself courageously
to life’s call without a hint of grief,
A magic dwells in each beginning,
protecting us, telling us how to live.

High purposed we shall traverse realm on realm,
cleaving to none as to a home,
the world of spirit wishes not to fetter us
but raise us higher, step by step.
Scarce in some safe accustomed sphere of life
have we establish a house, then we grow lax;
only he who is ready to journey forth
can throw old habits off.

Maybe death’s hour too will send us out new-born
towards undreamed-lands,
maybe life’s call to us will never find an end
Courage my heart, take leave and fare thee well.

Sort:  

Great post my friend! I enjoyed reading your reflections on life and your experience with Jonas. Deep and interesting!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Thanks! Believe it or not - I made this translation especially for you, because yesterday I noticed that you didn't catch the deeper sense of my story.

Thanks for your effort. I just had my wife read it as well!

your story really captivating!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.10 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 13 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

That view from the mountain road brings back many memories of near misses for me!

Thanks for your comment and your vote! I appreciate it, because you are a great writer and publisher here on steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.40
ETH 3085.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31