When Dawn Breaks (Every dark night eventually ends)

in #life7 years ago

When Dawn Breaks


It's always calm before a storm
But what about afterwards
All storms must pass
But as we weather each battle
Our resolve
Our very worth is tested
And looking back
When dawn finally breaks
I wonder if I will have had what it takes

Did I have what it takes
Would I be proud of myself
Looking back
At the time I committed

Those late night calls from my child's bedroom
When I'd rather be sleeping
Getting up instead
Did I rise to the challenge
And comfort a child
Cold and sick no matter how mild

Giving up my weekend
Knee deep in laundry
Cooking and cleaning
While the mother of my children
Makes time for herself to unwind and relax
Meeting with friends
Telling tales of all that she does without any end

When going to work each day is hellish torture
It withers my strength in depressing ordeal
With barely a strong will
Providing stability
I pay for the necessities
For wife and family
Like every man should

When my love and contribution
Go repeatedly unnoticed
Did I have the resolve
To fulfill the duty of fatherhood
And keep all my wedding vows
To continue on knowing that I mattered
Despite being so often mentally battered

As I stare up at the cloud covered sky
Holding on to my glass of whiskey made from rye
I wonder when the dawn will finally break
Desperate to find the hope that was once lost
Committed to not giving up I shout to deaf winds
Waiting for dawn to break and melt away this frost

Free In Thought

As always, I truly appreciate your support and comments. If you feel so inspired, please upvote, comment and resteem.





Images and Audio used are CC0 Public Domain unless noted or clearly original
Writing is original - Always

My D-Tube Channel

Sort:  

I felt like the First Paragraph was actually referring to me.

A couple of times, we really do not know how strong we are until been strong is our only option.

Great write up.. Thumbs Up..

Eldahcee

Thanks for the comment. Wonderful insight. So true, strength is often discovered when you least expect it.

yeah sure. I am a follower of your blog and I must say that you have been of great help mentally and otherwise. so whenever you are less busy, you might want to check out my blog, I am sure you would find an article that interests you. Thanks

TOGETHER WE CAN

U5drvGxDDcEcQ33fp8tzVbNPTvQm6Mi_1680x8400.jpg

ELDAH CEE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82