To My Daughter

in #life7 years ago

Fathers

All you need to say is father-daughter bond, and we just know.

I wrote this poem for all of you and for myself. As fathers we know our bonds with our daughters need no explanation.

Like most men we're not typically of many words when it comes to sharing our feelings. All you need to say is father-daughter bond, and we just know.

I hope this resonates with you. Now go and tell your daughters how much you are grateful for the meaning and purpose they've given to you as a father.

To My Daughter

My sweet little baby girl
In my arms you are so precious and fragile
I want only to guard and protect you
Until my days begin to slowly fade away
You shine so bright
Like purpose and meaning
Bundled into joyous light
You will grow and one day from me depart
And in those hours my sorrow will start
Oh my sweet baby girl so precious
What have I taught you in the time so far
What wisdom have I instilled on your little mind
To help you one day live out your dreams
I know that it's not about me
Who else but I
Cares more for your smile though
My little princess you have grown so fast
The years have slipped from me without warning
Have I been a good father
Performed well in my duty to you
I do not know for sure
I pray that you forgive me though
And let me start anew
To spend time together
Laughing and learning
Proving that my love for you is endless
Oh sweet daughter my life and blood
You are becoming a young woman soon
I pledge to always listen to your thoughts
Sit quietly holding you in my arms
Whenever you cry alone in bed at night
Let me ease the pain
Be there for your gain
As a father should
Next to your bed at night I stood
Watching you sleep
So angelically
My little baby daughter
You'll always be
To me

Free In Thought

As always, I truly appreciate your support and comments. If you feel so inspired, please upvote, comment and resteem.





Images and Audio used are CC0 Public Domain unless noted or clearly original
Writing is original - Always

My D-Tube Channel

Sort:  

This is the gospel I am sitting here with tears rolling down my cheek. As a wee child my biological father was an alcoholic and did not know how to love or show love. But for the grace of God a male figure was put into my path I called him Poppa and he showed me in every way what love of a father felt like and when I had kids he nutured and loved them to pieces and when they had kids he was a great grandfather that should have been bronzed and made into a statue. When I read your poem so loving so tender that digs so deep into the heart of a loving father that you are. Your daughter's are very fortunate to have you as their Father you will love them forever and ever till the end of time. That security is so important. I applaud you.

Thank you! You're pretty awesome too.

I've found it quite therapeutic using Steemit to express myself. I mostly write for myself. Writing helps me put my own life and obstacles into perspective.

These are my genuine thoughts and experiences. It's who I am. It's the person that most of the real people in my daily life can't be bothered or are uninterested in learning about.

But it's so nice to know that once in a while my thoughts touch someone else in a meaningful way. Peace and love :)

So beautiful @freeinthought I can't begin to imagine how hard it must be to be a good parent. Looks like you are asking all of the right questions. Peace to you and your daughter.

Thank you so much. I really do appreciate your kind words. :)

What a nice piece of writing!

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83