Nice Guys Always Finish Last

in #life6 years ago

pexels-photo-831993.jpeg

Nice Guys Always Finish Last

Breathing through a straw
Underwater
Yeah that's right
That feeling
Like everything's not gonna be alright

Everyday it's two steps backward
And one more closer to my grave
It's not cliche
Perhaps you were right
After that day you said to me
You wished we had never married
Ever since then
I've felt alone in the darkness each night

Your words cut me deep
So callous it's a wound that never heals
But you don't care
I'd never say the things you say to me
No matter the truth I just wouldn't dare
It's not right
I want to shield and protect you day and night
Whenever you struggle
I don't need you to be perfect
But you're too stubborn to accept a loving husbands help
So instead
Just love me and tell me things will be alright

And even if you don't
I don't blame you
It's just the man I am
I still work hard each day so you can spend it away
It's what I do
My purpose is for the kids and you
Tell me you're proud of me and care
Even if you're not and don't I won't be aware

I know you don't respect me
I can't compete
With the only man you've ever admired
Your father
I'm sorry he's gone
I loved him too
And never questioned you
Even after you swore yourself an enemy of my dad
Almost as if you were glad
To stick up for yourself in a conflict that only you had

You took me away from them
My birth family
Our children will never know grandparents, uncles and cousins
Because of your stubborn pride
Your fucking pride
And they say only men are pricks
Who pick fights while swinging their dicks
But it's not true
So are you

The more I give and do
It's like I'm shit stuck to the bottom of your shoe
Maybe I
Should say fuck you
And stop being nice
Like horrible men do
Maybe then
I'll be respected
Because the more I love and do for you
The less you care
I know it's not fair

But I can't be mean
Not to you or anyone for that matter
It's who I am
So I guess after all I am a man
Because you can't change me
So perhaps you have the upper hand
But my resolve tells me
I'll always have my principles
To remind me that my heart is still free

Free In Thought

As always, I truly appreciate your support and comments. If you feel so inspired, please upvote, comment and resteem.





Images and Audio used are CC0 Public Domain unless noted or clearly original
Writing is original - Always

My D-Tube Channel

Sort:  

My dear friend you always unleash so much emotion in me. I sit here crying for I feel your pain your anguish. As I young girl I came from a home that was filled with violence and belittlement. My answer get out so ran to what was familiar to me man who was heavy with the fist. But he hide it well until we where married. I was just 19 and 89lbs. I was divorced by the time I was 24 but by then he had broken nearly ever bone in my body. But why I tell you this in relationship to your heartfelt poem it wasn't his fist that destroyed me back then it was the power of his words. He left me with no spirit and no soul. The saving grace and I think you will relate to this is we had a daughter Amanda. She was my saving grace she was my light. I had to become strong I had to build myself up as I was going to be her example so I did. Can I ask you permission to print off this poem as on my vision board one of the things I want to do is select a poem and do a painting around the content. I have no idea how to paint that it the cool thing here in town they have lessons outside in the park in the summer that I have wanted to do for a long time but never did. Now I know why I needed a writing to inspire my mind to create brush stokes. Not sure if you understand or if I sound off the wall. You are a wonderful poetry and a precious man. Thank you for always sharing so honestly....appreciated.

Thank you so much for you personal story and perspective. I couldn't imaging what it was like for you in those tough times. I'm glad you persevered and have found peace. I feel silly almost since I know my troubles would pale in comparison that what you went through. But I know that's not the way to look at it. I know that I'm important too and my worries matter as well. Thanks for being you.

Please yes feel free to use the poem as you wish. If my words, thoughts and feelings can be used for good, even in small ways, I'm fully supportive.

Have a great day! :)

Thank you for your permission. When I do the painting in the summer I will share it with you. Have a blessed day my friend.

I think this is the best poem of yours that I’ve read. It is direct, cutting, emotional without being abstract, and clear. I love the images, the specific examples, everything.

Too bad that it is born out of deep and resounding pain and hurt. I’m sorry for the experience that you are going through and went 5rough to write this. It sounds like some horrible stuff has happened that lead to this like there is an unrequited sacrifice that is just spat on and resentment groupwing perhaps expresssed subtly and overtly between the two of you. Just a struggle of pain and anger.

I wish yOh the best and hope that this provides a healthy outlet. Excellent poem. Good rhymes and lively flow throughout. It was a joy to read while my heart sang for your damage.

You are a real godsend! I actually broke down and cried as I read your reply. It resonated so much with me.

Sadly I don't have a single soul to talk to in person. Everyone around me is superficial. Responses and behavior are almost programmed, so predictable. And of course we know that a man should have nothing to worry about; we've got it made right? We rule the world, at least we're told. So I stay quiet.

You're right though. Just writing about thoughts and feelings, ideas and concepts, is a big help personally. It certainly helps me get better at my writing as well. And I really want to be writer after all.

Steemit is great but even better are people like you. You're really awesome. A special person. I can tell. Your feedback and comments are really help.

Thank you so much!!!

You are so kind, thank you! Positivity and compassion certainly seems to be rare gems anywhere, and ever worse in "real life" where distraction, selfishness, and callousness seems to rule. I'm a firm believer if you shine your light without fear you'll scare away darkness (shitty people) and attract other lights that together will brighten both. Keep on keeping on, and know you have a place here of comfort and support.

You're welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01