Hurt

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Anything not worth fighting for is not worth anything

Relationships can be hard. Marriages are even harder. I'm speaking from experience.

Quitting or leaving often looks like an attractive option when things aren't going right. Sticking it out can seem like the absolute worst choice sometimes. But it doesn't have to be that way.

I believe there's truth and wisdom in the old expression that anything not worth fighting for is not worth anything.


rings-2634929_640.png

HURT


I know that things haven't gone your way
You've been facing disappointments and failed dreams
It often seems like they always come knocking on your door
And lately you've been feeling like you just want to run away

After years of marriage it's finally our turn
Hardship and resentment have found us today
Where every moment feels like it's a struggle
But I won't let all that we've built together burn

No it's not okay
For you to turn away
I won't let the end come
I'll pick you up when you fall
I'm in this for the long haul

I'll forgive you for raising your voice
And you can try to push me away
But I know that it's the pain that's talking
Our happiness together is our choice

Together we can beat these blues
I know you didn't mean the things you said
I'll stick with you until my very last breath
My love is yours to choose

No it's not okay
For you to turn away
I won't let the end come
I'll pick you up when you fall
I'm in this for the long haul

Free In Thought

As always, I truly appreciate your support and comments. If you feel so inspired, please upvote, comment and resteem.



Images used are CC0 Public Domain unless noted or clearly original
Writing is original - Always

All written material is copyrighted (c) by @freeinthought the year it was posted

Sort:  

I totally agree with these sentiments.

Well said.

NEVER GIVE UP...especially, if you're the one who screwed up.

Thank you for reading and commenting. Much appreciated indeed. There's far too many broken people and broken relationships in the world, I agree.

Right on, bro. Good luck!

Peace.

I really love the poem @freeinthought thank you so much for sharing this with us. Looking forward for more poems =)

Absolutely beautiful @freeinthought and so very true. Today is such a throw away society not only in relationships but vertually everything. When I see an elderly couple sitting on a bench still holding hands and I ask them what is their secrets they always say they stood together during hard times and enjoyed each other during good times. But there is both in a marriage (relationship) and you can't give up just because it is the easy way. Thanks again.

Thank you for the wonderful comment. It's great to hear from you again. :)

wow i loved the choice of word simple and deep.what matters is not how much we stand but how far we can stand back on our feet after falling.you are right.at times in life its its after trials we learn to appreciate what we had.really and truely anything not worth fighting for is not worth anything.so inspiring.Im a writer too and very new on steemit hope you read my own posts.sofiesvoice

beautifully penned down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56