How I quit smoking

in #life7 years ago

smoker.jpeg

Back when I was a smoker (Marlboro Lights in a soft pack), an old family friend told me how hard it was for him to quit. Smoking’s not just a habit, he said, it’s an identity.

I sneered when he said it. Smoking didn’t define me, it was just something I did. But, I couldn’t get his words out of my head. And over the next few years, I started to wonder if he was right. I spent about 2 hours a day with a cigarette in hand. The habit determined who I took breaks with at work. It dictated the restaurants I went to, the friends I hung out with, the activities I liked doing, and — probably — the people who wanted to hang out with me.

Not only that, but there’s this unspoken philosophy that comes with every pack. It’s a live-in-the-moment, f*ck-it-all, tousled-hair, I’m-not-scared-of-anything-could-care-less-if-it-kills-me, burn-both-ends-of-the-candle philosophy. We never know when our number’s going to get called, so why not enjoy the shit out of life while we can? Pass me those matches, man.

To quit means rejecting that philosophy. It means that maybe you’re afraid of dying of lung cancer, after all.

Quitting comes with practical problems, too. You have to stop taking breaks with those old buddies at work. Good luck not offending them. Your bar friends step out on the patio to smoke, and there you are staring at the video poker machine like a tool. You wake up in the morning and your routine has to change. Your drive to work is different. So is your post-meal activity, your bedtime ritual, everything.

Quitting’s the death of one lifestyle and the start of another. My old family friend was right. When I quit, I was forging a new identity.

I sneered at what he said so long ago, and that should have been my clue. To paraphrase Mark Manson, the more uncomfortable something makes you, the more likely it is to be true.

What is an identity, after all, if it’s not a label for your habitual behaviors? Show me your habits, and I’ll show you who you are.

Sort:  

Very good work dear friend @fredrick very interesting and current, it is public knowledge that more and more smokers and many of them want to quit smoking, many people will be grateful for this work

Nice post, great advice! I've been off and on again trying to quit for a couple years now.

By the way what you experienced is often called "cognitive dissonance." You rejected what your friend told you because it clashed with your world view. I'm glad it stuck with you and helped you quit!

Ha. I like that. I think I have lots of cognitive dissonance going on in my life :) Hope you can kick the habit eventually. Using the patch was the only way I was able to do it. I guarantee I'd still be smoking today if it weren't for that!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $15.95 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66892.02
ETH 3513.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67