I've turned starting over into an art form...

in #life7 years ago

Screenshot_20170919-190156.jpg

I've never lived anywhere longer than 4 years in my life. Really. Growing up we moved... a lot.
Dad got a new job, neighborhood got dangerous, opportunity to buy, etc., etc., ETC....

When I decided to venture out on my own at the not so adult age of 19, I had unintentionally adopted this somewhat gypsy lifestyle of moving from town to town. I'd love to say it was for some exciting reason like running from the law or to the law, but it never was. Break ups, new opportunities, or just a general sense of restlessness were the driving forces behind my constant state of permanence limbo.
At 34 years old, I've moved a total of 15 times. Admittedly, mostly within Southern California, but I did have one impulsive move to Costa Rica armed only with a traveler's pack full of clothes and no plans.

This very nature of mine has turned me in to a lone wolf...

20170919_183613.png

Lone wolves are typically older female wolves.
They leave to find a pack of their own, however, some remain alone.
These wolves are typically far more aggressive, dangerous and much stronger than those that remain in a pack.
They are dark, taciturn and reserved by nature.

20170919_183630.png

When you stand alone much of the time. Change can be easy and very rewarding.
I've gone through countless romantic relationships, a number of dwellings and now, in my mid thirties, I am 5 years in to a new career (not job) and about to begin a new graduate program.

I am steadfast and loyal once invested in anything or anyone, but I have no problem walking away from something that does not serve my life's purpose.

Don't ever be afraid to start over.
And know, that all you see is not all that remains to be seen....

"We need to be really bothered once in a while. How long is it since you were really bothered? About something important, about something real?" (Ray Bradbury, Fahrenheit 451)

Sort:  

Familiar with the feeling settled scenario.. took 6years out of the 14 or 15years (current place) to feel settled.. Every now and again, the mind wants to wander elsewhere..

I kinda get that feeling at times to just venture out, but i seem to never go through it... Perhaps one day.

"At 34 years old, I've moved a total of 15 times."

Wow and I moved so far six times in my life and I am 28, it's already kind of strange, but is nothing compared to you :D

I'm about there... Until vanlife... Then I just move my home..

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68