You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Perusing down Memory and Lane

in #life6 years ago

I work at a restaurant right now :p I am the cook there on only just a few days since now I have kids and am limited to what I can do because of.

I like working in the kitchen because of the satisfaction of making good food for people. Food is everything and it brings people together. If people are coming to eat my food, it becomes a great feeling to know that people are having a good time with a part of me there. It's not a fancy restaurant. Pretty basic but that doesn't matter in the sense of happiness so to speak. I mean if we are to be technical I can say that I would rather make healthier food for people which would make their bodies happier, but we tried that and no one wants it. Sad that the people here want that much grease for food.

I use to do many jobs as well. Worked as a secretary, a toll booth at a campground, clientele service for a phone/internet/tv company, meat factory, maple syrup factory, shoe store, clothing store, grocery stores and will all that I can say I still prefer making food. The other jobs had no challenges, it was boring, time went by slow and no chances of moving up much. I know in the kitchen it's a standstill job unless its a fancy restaurant and each their own spots... fry cook, line cook, sous chef, chef etc. The one I work at, I'm the only cook. I do everything. When we get a rush, so do I and there lies the challenge. Get everything done in good timing, the tables food done all together so the plates go out together, nice platting, not over or undercooked, making sure the amounts are equal. And it's never the same. Yes its the same like burgers, clubhouses, fries, poutines, fried chicken, the odd salads; but it's never the same orders in the same order. The clean up sucks though :P

For sure there are other jobs that make more money, but where will the happiness take place if we always stick to the money aspect and not the fulfillment that we need in our hearts and soul?

I think everyone that do make a lot of money and big business should take a break and try these little jobs that we do, see and feel the connections, what is real. Then they can go back to their normal jobs and reflect. There are beautiful lessons that lies therein. At least I like to think so.

I've enjoyed your blog very much so. You got me talking and reflecting. Good job! The best of all though is when I bake a special cake for someone. To make people happy with cake is the biggest joy for me, coming at a close second after my kids. <3

Sort:  

that's beautiful @foxyspirit thank you for sharing. I just remembered something awesome thanks to you.

There was this little book someone gave me a long time ago, it was called the languages of love.

It basically proposed the idea that people understand they are loved by different means. Some, through poetry others by attention to detail, etc etc...

but my favorite one, my absolute favorite one was FOOD.

Some people show they love by preparing food and others understand they are loved when they are given a meal.

Isn't that awesome, its basic I'll grant you that, but there is a certain simple truth to it, that i love.

It is awesomely great! Even though its simple and basic, what better feelings can there be?

I love you, here's cake ^_^

Everything comes with food; romantic meals, gatherings, weddings, birthdays, holidays, towns potluck gatherings, life celebrations, work celebrations... I could go on and on. Everything we do has food included.

I think I like your book and I haven't even read it lol. Something to be on the hunt for :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44