You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quantified Self, The Reputation Economy, and AI enabled Self Governance

in #life6 years ago

Wow this is a really great article, glad I stumbled across it.

I'm getting quite into some Quantified Self methods for knowing myself better and improving some things I haven't been happy with for a while.

One of the latest things I started doing is pushing a custom button on my phone, fitness tracker or smart watch when I feel a craving or actionable thought to get some fast food. I have been pretty lazy with that for the last 4 years, since I had enough money to do it basically, but it's not a good habit.

I found it hard to break the habit but since doing this I can hold myself accountable (literally, each trigger creates a row in a spreadsheet) and review the patterns of the craving. I'm finding that it helps me remember my goal and I'm slowly replacing the bad habit with a moment of introspection.

I'm doing a lot of other things, I'm going be writing about them more and more, but I think it's useful.

The idea of an Exocortex is very interesting and it hadn't occurred to me before that morals could a vector in a self quantified, that's a lot of food for thought.

What about the privacy and external control (loss of self sovereignty) implications? Maybe you've covered this elsewhere, but just going on what you've got here it appears that you're not interested in this question. Why is a forgone conclusion for you that people will want to compare a moral metric when, for example, doing business? It's a short step from that to the kind of dytopian control state we see in China right now?

What we see is that even if something is optional (say it's your choice whether or not to disclose your own moral metric) it becomes mandatory in a regulated business ecosystem. Case in point, try getting a mortgage without disclosing your private financial history.

I see the sense in us all wanting to know about other people's morals, in the sense that we actively already spend a lot of time trying to find it out and so on, but just because you want to know something about someone else or because it's useful, that doesn't make it something you should be allowed to know.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65