Psychology Degree @fortyplus

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Earning a Psychology Degree @fortyplus.

If you'd have asked me a year ago why I applied to study at 40+, I'd have told you exactly what I wanted to do, and where, and why Psychology....

Today, I'm not so sure.

OK, hear me out. I'm not disappointed with my decision, but I did, like most people, go in with a few preconceived ideas regarding the subject of Psychology.

1 - THE INSANITY PLEA - Has been used as an attempt to Get Out of Jail Free, and not only in the movies. It is rarely successful since "acting crazy" is not sufficient in a courtroom. Proving that you were insane at the time you committed an offence with today's technological advances, is difficult to say the least. Almost any comprehension of what is going on around you, considers you as "sane".

2 - MID-LIFE CRISIS - Yes, it's a popular belief, a in-fact a self-fulfilling prophecy, but without scientific foundation. Contrary to many beliefs, most people know who they are by mid-life, and also know what they want, and are usually at their happiest knowing how to live their life to the fullest.

3- DREAM INTERPRETATION by SIGMUND FREUD - His theories were wild and misunderstood and are now considered inaccurate, only his "talking therapies", and work on the subconscious, have laid the groundwork for what we understand about Psychology today.

4 - OPPOSITES ATTRACT - So there's no real chemistry in opposites. It's a claim made stubbornly, by people who want something different. The fact of the matter is closer to finding someone who compliments you, rather than your polar opposite, those relationships tend not to last. FIRE and WATER = opposites. VESSEL + WATER = compliments.

5 - CRIME DRAMAS (Shameless plug alert) - CSI, Luther, The WIRE, Criminal Minds, Dexter, Breaking Bad, Sherlock, True Detective, Law and Order.... They all use Psychological profiling to catch the bad guys. Sadly, that's just Hollywood. It's not like that at all.

I could go on, but the more I learn, the more I find out what I don't know. That's what's so fascinating. My opportunities ahead are almost without limit. I came to learn and understand why people do the things they do. I don't know where I was on that list, but I've found myself right at number one.

No, I won't be analysing everyone I meet, and I won't suddenly develop the ability to read peoples' minds. What I am doing is understanding myself a little more, and in turn, developing a little more empathy along the way. I guess I am becoming less judgemental and it allows me to see things the way other people see them. I hope this puts me in a better position, later on, to make a difference in people's lives.

I'm not selling you University or Psychology here, but I am selling you the idea that there is always something new you can try, opening you up to a whole new world, for yourself and others.

Have you experienced a life-changing moment?

What major changes have you had to make in your lives?

What can you advise to a person struggling to take that step?

Have your say.

SteemFollower is a new tool released, giving more visibility to your posts. To increase your FOLLOWERS, and boost your UPVOTES, click HERE to get started… https://steemfollower.com/?r=1025 . Enjoy your journey….

Sort:  

For begin, I must say that this is very informational and interesting post, especially for someone interested in psychology.

And yes... I had a life changing moment. From the worst student that you can imagine to straight A' student.
It's something I'm writing about right now and will publish it soon. I will be honored and happy if someone like you read it and gives me an opinion. I don't ask you for follow or upvotes, just an honest opinion.

What I will try to do with that article is to inspire other to change and to show how small things can lead to big changes.

Thank you @jokster. I'm looking forward to your post. It's always great to see people lift themselves, it's alway better to see people lift eachother. Happy posting and good liuck on your journey. Upvoted and followed.

Thank you! You too. :)

That post is still work in progress but should be published in less than a week.

Congratulations @fortyplus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @fortyplus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @fortyplus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This sounds like my mother in law! She graduated in Psychology a year ago at age 53! She also had a bit of a mid life crisis. Now she is teaching in Hong Kong and is studying towards a B.ED too! Good for you! Much love, @sweetpea

Well done to your mother in law. Proof positive that it's never too late. People do hit a point when they want to give up, and they feel that they are past being of any importance, but digging deep and changing your outlook helps a great deal. I wish you and her great success in life. Onwards and upwards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56523.53
ETH 2982.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15