First time Dad Diary January 13, 2018

in #life7 years ago

Friday afternoon, we were thinking how this little girl that is growing inside is not wanting to come out. It has been more than a week since the mucus plug have started to separate.
003.jpg
Mucus plug by the way is the stuff that stops bacteria or any foreign materials entering the babies womb.

On Saturday at work, exactly 11 AM, I checked my phone and I had 30 missed calls since 10:50 AM.
"Yen's water broke!"

I bolted out of work and drove straight to hospital. Told the boss I had to go home. He looked at me in disbelief, the thought of anyone going home at this busy time is absurd. I told him in broken English, my partner water break. He smiled, congratulated and wished me luck.

"Hopefully an easy labor", I shouted walking away.

Driving to the hospital, excitement, doubt, fear came to mind. Just the other day I told her that I was feeling like our baby is going to come out this week. I'd be extremely happy if she did but in the back of my mind there was doubt. Financially I wasn't really ready.................

"Quesera sera, whatever will be, will be, was my mindset."

The thought of finally seeing her put a smile on my worrisome face. Then I thought of how Yen is coping with the pain changed my face expression.

Arrived at the hospital around 11:45 AM, to my surprise and made me laugh quite a bit, my partner was relaxed and eating a sandwich. Apparently she is still in the stages of early labor.
005.jpg

At this point the labor contractions are quite mild. Time passes as we talk about our precious is finally going to meet us. We joke around, cried and laugh as we remember the things we went through. Some have it easy, we are the unlucky ones that really have to work hard to get what we want. With a bit of blessing and luck, we are here.

Then the contractions became a little less bearable. She turned to the laughing gas for some happy thoughts.
laughing-gas

As the day passes by the harder it is for her to smile. The pain was becoming unbearable, laughing gas wasn't helping at this point. It is now 10 PM, eleven hours through her labor and she is now 5 cm dilated. The midwife was checking up on her every half hour because her contractions have been constant. Each contractions are 60-90 seconds at 4 minutes interval.

She was offered a shot of morphine to calm the pain. My eyes dimmed down, I wouldn't mind a bit of that right now, I said to myself. But I needed to be there wholly for her.

The midwife advises that it's better to take it now and calm her down while she is in the middle stage. It will take 4 hours for the morphine to subsided a bit and by then she would be ready.

It is now 11 PM and the midwife that was taking care of us had to go home. The night staff had come.

These midwives that took over was so lazy, uncaring, and had that condescending attitude. She walked like the boss, looking down on us. It is 12 PM, our nightmare had just started.
pregnant-in-hospital-bed

Sort:  

Speechless,Photography of different styles
Thank you for sharing, so beautiful many of them

Oh wow thank you.

wellcome dear

Long labor = un-fun. Starting now sleep deprivation is like a badge of honour.

Che's mom says that easy labors breed criminals (that may be more about her brother than anything.)

Wait. 17 hours ago? I was trying to watch for your post all day.

Ready for updates here.

Ahahha... its tiring taking care of two babies (newborn and mom) I was lucky I got this one out. Should be soon. Stressed. I had my "wtf do I do?" moment last night. Panicking about whats going to happen tonight. Hard to blog at the moment.

Just the facts yo. We'll be interested in your perspectives when its stable. For now everyone just wants to know that mom is okay. (No one will care about you for months.)

Stress can keep you awake all night.

Trick is to worry about only the things you can actually control. Like a diaper service. See if you can sign up for that for a month. (Just one, you'll be fine after that.) Its also the best baby gift ever fyi.

Since this place ain't the same without you, I'm kinda thinking about a live cam of chez foov. I suspect its like she was sleeping all day and up all night for months. Like when mom was walking around, she was rocked to sleep, and now you want her to change her ways.

Night time is play time.

i ll agree with your noor .we have no word for this .amaizing.

thanks u for sharing

Amazing images @foovler

Thank you for sharing such an intimate moment!

Thank you

I feel for you guys. Things will get better. You will be your own hero 😉. Send my kisses to the little princess 😍.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84