#BeautifulSunday: Sometimes the Littlest Things Can Make Your Day Beautiful

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I had many plans for today. There is a French Fair in town and I had thought to head down with my family to check it out. But things did not go as planned.

The Mann had to work an afternoon shift, and the rest of the family decided to bike into town around 13:00 to visit the fair. The Mann and I do not own bicycles yet (we have thought about getting one since The Mann’s previous bike got stolen a couple years back, and even took part in a bike auction, but had come away empty-handed), so we were two bicycles short. Somehow, I felt too lethargic and tired to deal with the planning.

So I put a rain check on the plans.

I went up to my room and slept for a good 2 hours, woke up, and slept for another 2 hours. I felt as if I hadn’t slept at all! My whole body felt heavy, and my head, groggy. I headed down to the kitchen, and drank a fortified drink that supports blood-building.

My little brother came into the kitchen to announce his boredom. We decided to bake something - a chocolate cake! As it cooled, the chocolate cake cracked! Sighs

Then I noticed that the crack curved slightly upwards. So I put two cashew nuts where the eyes would be, and we had a lopsided smiley cake! :)

2016-06-09 17.21.02.jpg

Somehow that helped my whole demeanour to transition. My moodiness evaporated, and things started looking up!

2016-06-09 17.20.01.jpg

We had dinner together with the family. Everyone enjoyed the chocolate cake. And the Mann’s mommy took a plateful of longans out of the refrigerator and placed it on the kitchen counter.

Yes, LONGANS! Those fruity little gems of my childhood that are not so easy-to-come-by here. I pounced onto one and pierced the skin with my nail to get to the best part — the meat!

thumb_IMG_20170701_154924_1024.jpg

Look at the plump, juicy flesh and the glistening smooth seeds.
thumb_IMG_20170701_154854_1024.jpg

thumb_IMG_20170701_154955_1024.jpg

Happy and reenergised from my mini longan feast, I decided to tidy up my room and fold a surprise swan towel for The Mann when he comes home from work later. It's sitting on our bed, faithfully awaiting his arrival :)

thumb_IMG_20170501_220507_1024.jpg

thumb_IMG_20170501_220510_1024.jpg

Sometimes the smallest details in life can totally change your attitude and bring beauty into your day :)

The #BeautifulSunday contest is run by my fellow Singaporean steemian @ace108.

He's a really cool dude, and he's even funding the contest from his own pocket. So join the contest, or send his initiative a donation. Either way, it will go a long way into injecting more colour into this community each Sunday at the very least :))

Thanks for reading my post! I hope to read about your beautiful Sunday too. If you'd like to see more of my writing, follow @foodie.warrior. There's lots more where that came from :)

Your support is a great encouragement to me. Here's a big THANK YOU from me! <3

Sort:  

The cake looks a bit sad :/ but I would definitely eat it :D

It's difficult to maintain a smile when you got that big of a wound :)

If I think about it that way, then you are right and it's a really brave cake!

Give it a hug, if it hasn't been eaten yet :D

he got many hugs in our stomachs :) acidic, but full of love

sounds like a great happy ending for his short life span (:

Seems you have spent a great Sunday. Good post. :-)

I love how you turned negativity into a positive with the cake! I think I would have rather had the smiley cake anyway!

Yea, I'm glad for the cake cracking :)

nice story and the cake is just amazing ;)

Thanks for dropping by and leaving your sweet words @lenatramper! <3

It makes you enjoy the little things in life even more. I never heard of longans but I was happy because they made you happy. There was a reason for the cake crack. Look how it made you smile in the end. And it was you who took the initiative to make the cake smile. I love how you made a not so good mood day into a smiley day! Love that swan towel too. :)

Hehe thanks @whatisnew, reading your comment brought a big smile to my face! I hope you have a wonderful day full of smiles and positive vibes too :)

I am glad that I made you smile! :) I will try...just like you did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.34
ETH 2738.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61