Why We Never Die

in #life8 years ago

 Andrea Fontanili/EyeEm, via Getty Images         

 As a child, I was terrified of death. It was often in the twilight hours,  between the moment of lying down and the imperceptible instant of  slipping off to sleep, that the terror would arise. The thought of  vanishing completely from the world, of being engulfed in ineradicable  darkness, would seize upon me and crush with it the very existence of  the world. It was not simply that I would no longer be there. It was  that reality itself would collapse, devoid of any point of apprehension.  Petrified before a void so vast that it could not be contained within  thought, let alone a thinking being, it was impossible to know how long  it would take to drift off into the abyss that silently beckoned me.
Religion  and spirituality were of little or no solace. Even to my young mind,  they struck me as fantasies that had been elaborately constructed and  forcefully imposed in order to stave off the horror. Their power paled  in comparison with the groundless vacuum that they sought to mask, and  my restless mind would have nothing of consolation. As I grew older, the  appeal of philosophy was that it opened vantage points to stare into  the vertiginous face of death, and to ponder the meaning of living in an  uncertain world precariously perched on the absolute certainty of  death.Experience  added material realities to these unsettling thoughts. I remember  attending my first open-casket funeral and peering down on the docile,  lifeless body of Everett, an old farmer whose summer straw scent and  peaceful demeanor had left a distinct impression on my inexperienced  mind. Then there were stories of others dying around me, and the  profound sadness that accompanied them, ranging from Russian roulette  suicides to horrific explosions of propane gas.Growing  up on a farm brought with it, moreover, the omnipresence of death, from  raccoon and coyote attacks to trips to the slaughterhouse, or winter  diseases that had my brother and me chiseling shallow graves for animals  into frozen earth as young children. I still recall watching my baby  sister holding the lifeless body of a newborn lamb under warm, running  water with the confused hope of somehow bringing it back from the  precipice. Life was imbued with death.

Today,  my eldest child, at the age of 6, has fallen prey to these same fears.  With two fingers lodged in his mouth, he pulls down on his lower jaw as  if he were trying to hold onto some self-supporting ledge of meaning. He  looks up at me from bed in the twilight and asks if everyone will die  someday. He wants to know when the scientists will develop a potion that  will allow us to live forever. I tell him that I am not certain that it  will happen, but I cannot help but subtly acquiesce to the consolation  it brings him to imagine one day drinking from an enchanted glass and  sharing it with the entire family. Yet the fears are still there, and he  senses my uncertainty. He tries to calculate with his rudimentary  arithmetic how many years he will have before he dies. Then he  interjects that even his awkward sums might not add up because there  could be an accident causing him to die before me.I  hear him repeating in the dark, like an echo across the ages, the  thoughts that I once silently had, including the conviction that I would  die young. He returns me to those terrors, which have surprisingly  receded with the years. Was it, perhaps, that I had merely survived a  prolonged adolescent death drive? I certainly sensed at some point that I  was already in the afterlife, since my existence could have easily  ended long ago. 

In  looking back from this immanent afterlife on my earlier terrors, and  how they have been slowly buried over time, I see now that they were  overly fixated on my own biological death. Since I recognized eternal  transcendence as nothing more than a comforting illusion, the only thing  left was my finite life in the here and now, which was destined to  disappear forever in an instantaneous blackout.

It  is now patently unclear to me, however, that we ever actually die in  this way. Our existence has numerous dimensions, and they each live  according to different times. The biological stratum, which I naïvely  took to mean life in general, is in certain ways a long process of  demise — we are all dying all the time, just at different rhythms. Far  from being an ultimate horizon beyond the bend, death is a constitutive  feature of the unfolding of biological life. In other words, I am  confronting my death each day that I live.Moreover,  the physical dimension of existence clearly persists beyond any  biological threshold, as the material components of our bodies mix and  mingle in different ways with the cosmos. The artifacts that we have  produced also persevere, which can range from our physical imprint on  the world to objects we have made or writings like this one. There is,  as well, a psychosocial dimension that survives our biological  withdrawal, which is visible in the impact that we have had — for better  or worse — on all of the people around us. In living, we trace a wake  in the world.If  biological death appears to some as an endpoint to existence, there is  nevertheless a longevity to our physical, artifactual and psychosocial  lives. They intertwine and merge with the broader world out of which we  are woven. This should not be taken as a form of spiritualist  consolation, however, but rather as an invitation to face up to the ways  in which our immanent lives are actually never simply our own.Authentic  existence is perhaps less about boldly confronting the inevitable  reality of our own finitude than about recognizing and cultivating the  multiple dimensions of our lives. Some of these can never truly die  because they do not belong only to us. They carry on in the physical  world, in the material and cultural vestiges we leave, as well as in the  psychological and social effects we have on those around us.

It  is in this regard that my twilight conversations with my oldest son  take on a very different light. Although they might not bring  consolation to either of us in any traditional sense, they certainly  leave traces of an intense moment of sharing something that will carry  on in both of us, as well as in my youngest son who “plays dead” in his  bed next to us as he pretends to sleep while listening intently to our  probing exchanges. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47