Dream Catchers

in #life7 years ago

Dream Catchers originated with the Ojibwe people and later became integrated into Native American tribes in the mid 1900's. The dream catcher was thought to protect the sleeper from bad dreams, as they would get caught in the web, while good dreams would flow down the ribbons and feathers onto the dreamer below them.

Dream catchers have become really popular as hippy/boho style decor with many outside of the Native American culture.

I love learning new things and doing crafty stuff, so I decided to learn how to make some dream catchers to add to my Etsy shop.

Here is the first dream catcher I made.unnamed.png

1Dream Catcher1.jpg

For the second dream catcher I wanted to add some color and flowers.
1.jpg
3.jpg

This dream catcher is still for sale. It can be found here:
https://www.etsy.com/listing/524053291/purple-flower-dream-catcher-large-boho?ref=shop_home_feat_4

I will be making more soon. I really enjoyed creating them.

If you like my work or want me to create something for you please comment, upvote and share!
Thank You
~Heather

Sort:  

I love how you not only create these beautiful pieces out of your passion and joy, but you also share the history and story behind them! Great job!

Thanks @flowerpowerart

You have been PROMOTED FREE for using the "promote" TAG (hashtag)

https://steemit.com/promoted/promote

Just doing my part for the community @flowerpowerart

Keep STEEM N ON,
Frank

I wrote a dreamcatcher-related story several months ago. Is there any chance you could make a similar double-hoop design?

I am sure I could figure out how to make a double hoop one like that. However, I dont think a dream catcher would be responsible for keeping you safe at work. I am sorry to hear that you were hit with a fork lift. That is terrible and I hope that you are ok. I am however, interested in what is in that medicine bag that is hanging in the middle. Did you add that to the dream catcher or was it placed there by the Indian? And have you ever opened it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43