My floating experience (my first hour in an isolation chamber)

in #life7 years ago

floating.jpg

Total darkness, no sound and well...you float.

No effort needed.

You get into a tank flled with warm water, which pretty much matches your body temperature. They told me they use a magnesium mix to make you float.

flflf.jpg

I stepped in, closed the door and suddenly I was in total darkness. The only sound I could hear from time to time was the water when I moved and my breath.

I had high expectations and was curious how it is, since I have heard a lot of positive things in a couple of podcasts.

It should reduce your stress

Bring you in a meditative state

Even make you kind of trip

Inner clearance and improved focus was promised also.

At first I wasnt really able to relax. I had the need to know where the exit is all the time but I lost my orientation really fast which bothered me a lot. My feeling for time had left me before and I was not sure if I was in it 15 or 45 minutes.

After accepting the situation I started to focus on my breath and started to relax and just wanted to see what will happen.

And this is were I think I kind of felt into a trap. I was expecting something, enlightment, seeing music, talking to ghosts....

but nothing happened.

It was for sure relaxing, and I had moments of deep focus and a meditative state for short amounts but my expectations were way to high to be ever fullfilled and I felt like how I did when I meditated the first time in my life. Waiting for something big and life changing to happen.

The only thing which really happened was the buzzing sound which reminded me the hour I have booked was over.

I will try this again in the coming weeks and I am sure with the gained experience it will get more out of it.

Sort:  

I would love to try one. I remember watching this Vice doc where some guy tried a few different ones

Sounded like it was great relaxation, can't wait to get in one to meditate

thx for the link.

will check it out

wowm na this something is really cool :/

yes it was cool but also disapointing at the same time but I will try again. As I mentioned I just had wrong expectations.

Wow .. Deprived of all your senses just like that ... Wish they have that in India ..Which place did you go into ? (I mean which city ?)

It is just 500 meters away here where I live in Phuket.

I want too :(

worth a try for sure

Looks like a fine experience!

yes it was not bad but expected a bit more. Will see how it is next time

Is this the chamber you use to cure compression sickness?

no I dont think so

I have never even heard of this! What an odd experience!

still worth a try

I would try it!

I would have been super claustrophobic and probably freaked out after a few minutes haha! Im happy you had a great time it looks relaxing! Just being locked in idk..

you can leave whenever you want. You can open the door from the inside. Just odd when you dont know where the door is ;-)

This sounds really scary to me, the opposite of relaxing! I think I'd feel better if I knew I could get out and if it was only semi-darkness rather than pitch black. Would be interested to know whether or not you enjoy it more next time .

You can get out whenever you want the door is not locked from the outside. I think also if you prefer you dont have to close it.

Maybe there are also tanks with the option of a little lightning but I dont know.

I think the fact that you were expecting something big to happen is what interfered with your experience. Next time, try to just let go of any expectation. Make it so your goal is to empty your mind of anything. Just empty. Don't think of past or future and this includes letting go of expectations from this particular experience. When you get to your state of just "being" that's when you can just let your experience guide you to anything that might happen.

Yes that was defently the issue.

While I meditate for a couple of years already and had the same probleme when I started with my meditation practise, I had the hopes and expectations I would go way deeper into a meditative state and longer.

Will see how it is next time I go

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97