THE WISDOM OF BILL HICKS - #8 - What Makes Comedy Good

in #life5 years ago


The next installment in my THE WISDOM OF BILL HICKS series is from an "Interview with Funny Man Bill Hicks By Jimmy O'Brien (Nov/Dec 1991)". This is one of the times where Bill directly answers what he feels makes comedy good. To those who read his words, pay close attention to the juxtaposition of anger and love. There-in lies the true motivator of Bill's "comedy".

I honestly wish every human could take these points to heart an integrate them into their daily lives. By finding humor in more things in our daily lives we just might be able to rise above this world of "emotional trolls". I think deep down EVERYONE is fully aware of the sad state of all cultures and we should all be "justifiably angry" because we all feel what this world COULD be.


JO: "What makes comedy good for you"


BH: Good question. First, wit. Someone once described wit as finding similarities in the things that are different, and finding differences in the things that are similar. I like that a lot as far as wit.
As for humor, I think it has to ring true emotionally, coupled with justified anger at how the world is, and how you in your heart know the world can be. In that lies humor, and the word 'fuck'.

JO: "Where does your comedy come from, anger?"

BH: Well, not just the anger. I like to offer the information on how I'd rather see the world. I'm not just yelling in the wind, I hope. So I guess I'm trying to share the message of love, and hope more people will think that way, thereby validating my lifestyle. (Laughs) The more people Bill works, the less work Bill has to do.

...

BH: Well, I think comedy should be enlightening, and that's the reaction I get. As far as how the public perceives us [comics], I'm glad they think we're misfits.

...

BH: I love comics and I think they're very smart. To me they're like the last bastion of free speech in the country.


Interview with Funny Man Bill Hicks By Jimmy O'Brien (Nov/Dec 1991)
Source: Image
Source: Excerpt from Bill Hicks : Love All The People

BTS = jwf

Token = FFFARM

Check out my:

Whaleshares blog | Steemit blog | Scorum blog


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

Feel free to join our Discord server to find out more about our BTS token FFFarm.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!




Learn how to join the Byteball WCG Distribution!


FFF Runic.png


Sort:  

Bill Hicks is great. I always thought of his style of humor as "shedding light on what is right in front of us, and completely absurd". George Carlin is another legend of the same ilk.

Carlin, Hicks, Pryor are my Mt Rushmore of comedy. They are 3 of the most imitated, influential, and looked up to comics of our time. I am planning my Carling posts out now and will be doing a Wisdom Of George Carlin series followed by Pryor. Kind of the place they each hold in importance to me. Hicks was the truth sayer, Carlin the genius monologist, and Pryor most raw.

Hi, @flemingfarm!

You just got a 0.2% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @flemingfarm!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.954 which ranks you at #3792 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 20 places in the last three days (old rank 3772).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 255 contributions, your post is ranked at #44.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95