You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do hardships and poverty breed good artists?

in #life8 years ago

I definitely think poverty could be a piece of the puzzle for a certain kind of creativity... Living in poverty brings about real deep emotions in a lot of people and those who don't have anybody to express their emotions to, tend to find their expressive outlets through artistic pursuits.

If you look at a lot of the most "creative" people in the world, most of them have had unfortunate upbringings or mental health problems of some sort.

I think quite possibly if you grow up in a very comfortable environment where everything is handed to you and your emotions are always in check... Then you don't really develop a deep reservoir of emotional creativity to pull from.

Obviously all people can be creative if they put their minds to it, but I think the ones that have felt the pain of poverty and the emotions of depression have a certain "button" that they can push, artistically, that makes their work resonate somewhere deep with other people. Which in turn makes them relatable and popular.

Great post. I have thought about this subject a few times myself!

Sort:  

Thanks @flandude. Agreed entirely. When I work on my comic book and drawings, I do access a dark place that is a conduit for some of unfortunate experiences and personal struggles I've had. Glad to know the subject resonates with you. I sometimes wonder if I'm the only person that thinks of these things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63