Learn with me #1 - Who are left-handed? ๐Ÿ–Ž Surprising things about left-handed people! ๐Ÿ–ŽsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Today, I want to share with you, surprising things about left-handed people.

Left-handed people make up about 10 to 15 percent of the world's population.
And guess what! I'm part of it โœŒ!


source

Until a relatively close time, the particularity of left-handers was considered a defect, even a handicap!
They were forced to learn to write with the right hand!

Twenty-five years ago, when I started writing, it was complicated. Already because I wrote and read from right to left. Yes Yes! Strange FlaminGirl you will think, you right-hander ^^. But not at all!

Do you know that the hand with which one writes is related to certain physiological and neurological specificities?
The search is incomplete, but here's what I found about the cognitive and psychological peculiarities of left-handed people:

  • They may think faster

Left-handed people could access the hemispheres of their brains faster and more efficiently.

According to an Australian study published in 2006 in the journal Neuropsychology, connections between the hemispheres of the brain are faster in left-handed users, resulting in faster processing of information.
The authors of the study gave the participants a task that allowed them to measure the transfer time between the hemispheres, and another that required using both hemispheres at the same time.
This work showed that left-handers processed information faster from one hemisphere to another, a cognitive asset that could benefit them in activities such as video games and sports.
source

Provided that the controller is adapted ... Yes because when one is left-handed, this type of controller makes completely crazy !!!!


source

That's why I hate video games now! I was traumatized all my childhood by a joystick of video games upside down !!!!!!


source

  • They have an advantage in sport

Many athletes are left-handed. They are one step ahead of the right-handers! And they have an advantage especially in dueling sport (boxing, fencing, tennis, tennis table ...) because their difference tends to destabilize their opponent who is troubled by a "mirror game".

Some famous left-handed athletes:

Rafael Nadal

source

Cรฉcile Argiloas

source

Oscar De La Hoya

source

Lionel Messi

source

  • They have an advantage in art

Thanks to their cognitive specificities, left-handers would be more creative. They have a better sense of space and a divergent thought (finding several solutions has the same problem).
Leonardo da Vinci and Michelangelo were both left-handed.


source

  • Left-handed drawbacks

The world is designed for right-handed people and the daily life of a left-handed person is sometimes complicated. Here are some examples...

Image Source: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

But fortunately, all these people have succeeded in life despite everything!

Five of the last seven US Presidents were left-handed!

Some famous left-handers:

Barack Obama

source

Albert Einstein

source

Sarah Jessica Parker

source

Bill Gates

source

FlaminGirl! XD

Since 1976, August 13 is the international left-handers!!!๐ŸŽ‰ ๐ŸŽ‰ ๐ŸŽ‰


source

I hope you enjoyed reading this post!

See you soon for a new theme!!!

Sort: ย 

I understand your post oh so well. Being left-handed, especially as a child in school was not fun. Nuns whacked my hand when they saw me trying to write with my left hand. However, all that is past and now a revel in being just a little bit unique. Keep up the good work.

Me too my teachers tried to make me write right to see but they gave up ... XD
And now I have a funny way of writing, it always amazes people when I hold my pen but I think I have a beautiful writing so I do not care ;) Thanks for your nice comment @codybill2

You are the coolest left-handed of all above! ๐Ÿ˜‰
Very interesting read. Sometimes I wish to be a left hand - mostly for the creativity!

Thank you very much! For the creativity is good! But sometimes I would like to be right-handed for everyday life XD

I am left handed too!! OMG we have so much in common!! ๐Ÿ˜Š

๐Ÿ˜†
๐Ÿ˜†
๐Ÿ˜†
We are the smartest ahahahahah

Congratulations @flamingirl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post was promoted with @monitorcap traffic bot & STEEM promotion service.

Send MIN. $1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field
and recieve upvotes & resteems for your posts. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63055.19
ETH 3036.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71